OsmAnd/OsmAnd+

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by EmmEff, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. worwig

    worwig Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,011
    Location:
    Hog Mountain
    Uninstall and reinstall.
    Is there a chance that you installed it from someplace other then the play store?
  2. Laconic

    Laconic Boomer Berserker Nativist Rube

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    28,687
    Location:
    Moran Nation
    That's what I wound up doing. Now that you mention it, I may have gotten it from Amazon the first time.
    gavmac likes this.
  3. Don Coyote

    Don Coyote Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,605
    Location:
    Upper Midwest, US
    Speaking of updates, how is offline map data handled with OSMand? Does it periodically update map data you have downloaded through the program?
  4. Laconic

    Laconic Boomer Berserker Nativist Rube

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    28,687
    Location:
    Moran Nation
    Manual updates, AFAIK, unless you subscribe to "Live", then you can choose your auto update frequency.
  5. gavmac

    gavmac Long timer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,098
    Location:
    Boonah, Qld, AU
    The maps are generally updated monthly, so by the middle of the month updates are available. Go to Settings-> Download Maps. Then select Updates tab.
  6. sjc56

    sjc56 Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,210
    Location:
    Broad Brook CT USA
    I'm playing around with Osmond, downloaded some tracks with no problem. But how do you close the tracks once you are done? I have about 5 open and they all kind of link into each other. I looked in dashboard and don't see anything same on the menu.
  7. worwig

    worwig Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,011
    Location:
    Hog Mountain
    For me I simply to to 'configure maps', then enable or disable whatever track I want.
  8. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,416
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    I open the Hamburger menu (3 horizontal lines) then select "My Places" then at the top select "tracks". This displays a scrolling list of the visible tracks. It LOOKS like I can turn them off and on from there, but I actually have to select a track to display the summary of that track and de-select the "show on map" slider there. The list of visible tracks also lists file folders that have other tracks that aren't visible.

    I just looked at "configure maps" as @worwig suggested. There the tracks are listed under "GPX files". May be fewer taps than my previous method.
  9. sjc56

    sjc56 Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,210
    Location:
    Broad Brook CT USA
    Thank you both work.
  10. Jamie Z

    Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    10,827
    Location:
    Around Denver
    I already know the answer to this... but asking just in case I'm missing something obvious.

    Screenshot_20200922-213138.jpg

    Any way to color code those icons so I'm not looking at a screen full of useless orange dots?

    This is one of those things I don't understand. Who would make all the icons almost identical?
  11. Jamie Z

    Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    10,827
    Location:
    Around Denver
    Another question.

    Is there a way I can turn off turn-by-turn navigation, but turn on alerts? When following a track, I don't want the turn-by-turn directions on, as it tells me to turn at every curve in the road. But it seems that if I turn off the voice navigation, it also turns off alerts such as speed limit and railroad tracks, which I find useful.

    I don't see a way to leave the alerts on, but turn off the voice navigation.
  12. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,416
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    They're not identical. Religious buildings are grey. The campground is blue. The sports stadium (?) is green.

    Are those fundamentally different from the orange ones?

    I don't know the answer but it give me hope that there's a way.
  13. Jamie Z

    Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    10,827
    Location:
    Around Denver
    Oh... good point!

    That screen shot is an extreme example. Most of the time my map doesn't look like that, but too often I get icons on my screen for which I have no idea what they are, and I was hoping there was some way to customize those.

    You can customize *your own* POIs, but I don't see a way to select colors/icons for POIs within the mapset.
  14. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,416
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    "Touring" seems to have POIs in more colors than some of the other map styles. Makes me think that researching how to build or modify a map style is key.
  15. Brutalguyracing

    Brutalguyracing Long timer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Oddometer:
    3,432
    Location:
    Long Island New York
    Touring map is the only map I use
    I just think it has the most detail and it also makes the track lines thicker and clearer
  16. PineLaneRider

    PineLaneRider Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,279
    Location:
    Between Michaux and Tuscarora State Forests
    Its been a while since I've been in OsmAnd, use GURU mostly, but I think you can pick which POIs show up on the map.
  17. mslim

    mslim If it's worth doing... it's worth overdoing

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,552
    Location:
    Austin of the Ozarks
    I'm trying to integrate a cast-off Android phone into an offline nav device for bike trips.

    I have tried Kurviger Pro, Google Map, Magic Earth, and OSMand. So far OSMand looks the most promising. One huge shortcoming seems to be when I search for a POI such as restaurant or a campground, it's fairly stupid. One example from yesterday... I searched for "Oscar's Cafe, Eureka Springs Arkansas." I was at home so I was using my home wi-fi for internet connection. I was getting search returns of "Oscar's" this and that from 500-1000 miles away. That doesn't seem to be very useful. Shouldn't these devices default to the nearest appropriate search returns?

    Granted I am not very experienced with these, but what am I missing? Do I need to download a POI database or something? How do you search when you're offline?

    Puzzled.
  18. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,416
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Can you go to the Open Street Map site to see how it's listed on the map?
  19. mslim

    mslim If it's worth doing... it's worth overdoing

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,552
    Location:
    Austin of the Ozarks
    There is nothing at the site of the restaurant. Not even an icon of a building. It says Nominatim is the search engine. Are there better search engines for OSMand?
  20. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,928
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    If there's nothing on the open street map website then there's no information about the business.

    You're looking at the open street map website, right?
    EmmEff likes this.