Portland to Ridgecrest- 10 Days on an XR650R through the Eastern Sierra

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by bicycleweed, Nov 8, 2011.

1. bicycleweed

bicycleweed Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Oddly enough, my parents gave me the idea for the trip. Even though they were more worried than anyone else. They were preparing to set off on a month long bicycle tour of eastern Canada and upstate New York, and I was enjoying a farewell dinner with them. Well, I had only taken 4 extra curricular days off from work in the past year, and needed a vacation. I sell bicycles for a living, and ride bicycles just about every day, so a vacation from the pedals sounded great. Toss in drifty turns and fast whoops, and the goal was set. Riding from Mexico to Canada in the desert sounded good- that would be the goal, and if I couldn’t make that happen, I’d get as close as I could.
    In late September, I finally found a decent XR650R. Serendipitously, my YZ125 sold 24 hours prior to checking out the XR. Driving to yet another bicycle race, I stopped and took a look at the XR. It was used, and had a few small quirks, but it was legit and everything checked out.

[​IMG]
    Preparing for the trip, I really didn’t know what to do. The plan was to just wing it for a route, more or less ask for directions, and just guess which roads and trails would be best. With a brand new bike, that sat for a few weeks as the stator was getting rewound and awaiting a new clutch cover gasket, I had maybe 100 miles on her prior to departure. In short, she was an un-tested beast.

[​IMG]
    The days leading up to departure were jam-packed. Bicycle rides kept getting in the way of trip packing, and I was a bit sleep deprived with all the stuff to organize and prepare. Part of it was just nerves, too, as I’ve never before really done a trip like this.