1. Hey everyone, We’re going to start a weekly email to surface interesting threads in the forums. No worries, you can easily unsubscribe if you don’t find it interesting. If you’re like me, it’s nice to have someone willing to poke around a big community like ours and find the most interesting stuff. Saves time and I hate missing something great. It worked really well when we had someone discovering the best photos for the home page rotation back in the day. And if you have something fascinating to post, maybe this email does everyone some good by getting it noticed. Let us know what you think when you get it. Your feedback will make it better as we go (thread). Thanks! Baldy & rudy1220
    Dismiss Notice

Problem getting Brouter to work on Android with Locus Pro

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by danmcph, Aug 5, 2018.

  1. danmcph

    danmcph Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Oddometer:
    36
    I installed Brouter onto my Android phone. When I select the blocks on the map that I want it to download (Idaho and Utah). When I hit "download" I get the message error saying

    Server Returned HTTP 404 Not Found

    I tried uninstalling the App and reinstalling it. No luck. I am a one trick pony and my one trick didn't work.

    If someone is willing to help me figure out what the issue is and how to fix I I will do there next tire swap for them. :1drink
    #1
  2. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,913
    Location:
    alabama
    looks like they're updating segments on the server
    #2
  3. danmcph

    danmcph Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Oddometer:
    36
    I tried using Brouter about 4 months ago and was getting the same error message at that time as well. I finally gave up on it. Yesterday when I tried it again, I got the same message.

    Do they update the server that often and I am just unlucky as to timing, or could there be another explanation?
    #3
  4. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,913
    Location:
    alabama

    no idea. segments are downloading now.
    #4
  5. Albie

    Albie Kool Aid poisoner

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Oddometer:
    14,843
    Location:
    NWA
    Could be your ISP is at fault. Try switching your DNS server to Google. Use 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.
    #5
    Okiestrong and ohgood like this.
  6. danmcph

    danmcph Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Oddometer:
    36
    Bingo! Thanks
    #6