1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

Purchasing used BMW F650 GS adv bike

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by SdtCata, Jul 16, 2019.

1. SdtCata

SdtCata n00b

Oddometer:
    Hi,

I'll start by saying I am a noob at riding. I've never owned a motorcycle before but I have always been interested in them and I've started seriously considering buying an adventure bike perhaps next year.

Of all the adv bikes and listings, the ones I take a liking in are BMW GS bikes. They are abundant and seem relatively low cost (Romanian/European market). The ones I can afford are pretty old, for example this: https://www.olx.ro/oferta/motomus-v...0-gs-650cc-50cp-b8375-IDcBhev.html#2e02a60bf3

It's around my budget of 2000, it looks clean and taken care of and it's being sold by an authorized respected dealer. I am aware you can probably get better deals in USA as the used bikes are newer and still affordable, however this is what I can afford and have to work with.

What kind of advice can you give a beginner ride looking to purchase a BMW GS as a first bike?

EDIT: Also one more question: is it capable for off-road two up riding, say for when you wanna go camping?

Thanks & please have mercy.
  2. bozmotodual16

bozmotodual16 GuttenTight Supporter

Oddometer:
    That is a great choice for a first bike. I had a G650GS for several years before moving to an F800GS. Most used bikes don't have service records from previous owners, but they might possibly exist in the dealer's database. Ask for those, and at a minimum make sure its had its proper maintenance based on mileage. Take a few safety riding courses for yourself, and certainly for your passenger. Ride for awhile to get some experience before taking someone with you. Congratulations and have fun!