Questions on mixing parts between years

Discussion in 'Airheads' started by Bh867, Nov 7, 2018.

1. Bh867

Bh867 Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I've been a long time admirer of the airheads but I am still quite new to the game and as such I have a few questions I'd like to ask with regards to a Frankenstein bike I'm building. I have a 78 r80 with r100 jugs. The front forks are off of an 80's model and has the dual Brembo brakes. It also has a 5 speed trans with kick start. I bought a /5 tank and would like to build it to look a lil more old school /5 ish. Some questions I had are wether anyone knows if the brake distribution block that mounts under the tank for the Brembo equipped bikes will clear the /5 tank? I know the hydraulic master cylinder for the dual brakes won't as I've tried that :)
    Also I'm curious wether the front timing cover for a /5 and the intake boots will fit on this setup, I have the stock 32mm bings from the r80. Any help would be appreciated thanks!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  2. Plaka

Plaka Brevis illi vita est

Oddometer:
    you don'r want the /5 timing cover. Very poor ventilation and the diode boards overheat. Grind the stripe off a later one and bead blast it for a more old school look..

The brake splitter ought to fit without the ignition heatsink fitted to it. Depends on the tank. The later big /6 touring tank is a better choice. The cloissone roundels can be glued on and the cut-off /r screw heads glued into the badge.

The polished /'5 turn signals will fit. The dipstick will with slight modification. Keep ( or source) the deeper /7 oil pan. The larger /5 chrome grab handle is a bolt-on.

The air filter housings should exchange, old for new. But you will need the air tubes that go with the filter housing and the correct (or bodged up) windage plumbing.. The newer filter housing is superior but is not quite the old school look. Don't know when they changed.