Quick Question: KTM 990 Adv oil change

Discussion in 'Dakar champion (950/990)' started by discoganya, Dec 31, 2019.

  1. discoganya

    discoganya Engineer, Rider, Dad

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Oddometer:
    316
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Getting ready for an oil change on my 2008 990 Adv S.

    Warmed up the bike and took everything off... But there turned out to be a lot of stuff to remove (crash guard, skid plate, tank, fairing) - so two hours in, the oil is probably cold and I have to leave to go do something else.

    How can I warm up the engine oil before I drain it? Can I run it with only one tank connected?

    Or am I resigned to a cold oil change?
    #1
  2. Xcelite

    Xcelite Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Oddometer:
    156
    Location:
    Corner of No and Where.
    You can run it with one tank removed if you want to. Any particular reason you want to change it when it is warm?

    Also, after the first few, an oil change should take less than an hour. It is also possible to do with the tanks on but things are obviously harder to reach from below.

    Third option is the remote oil drain hose.
    #2
  3. discoganya

    discoganya Engineer, Rider, Dad

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Oddometer:
    316
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Thank you. I will give it a try.

    I like to drain warm oil... Flows better no? That's just how I've done oil changes for so many years.

    With the skid plate removed I can change out the crankcase oil, screen and filter, and drain the oil in the oil tank. I don't see any way to change the screen in the oil tank without removing the tank.
    #3
  4. rinho

    rinho Rinho Féroce

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,709
    Location:
    back in France but Soul still in North America
    Also, warm oil helps to have particle in suspension and then flushed out with the oil
    #4
  5. Xcelite

    Xcelite Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Oddometer:
    156
    Location:
    Corner of No and Where.
    #5
    Jeff Sichoe likes this.
  6. Jeff Sichoe

    Jeff Sichoe ruddy bastard

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Oddometer:
    333
    Location:
    Wellington
    The 30 min oil change is real. Just have a good ratcheting spanner for the oil tank plug. Spray down with contact cleaner.

    Just gotta be patient and work with the space provided.
    #6
  7. rattis

    rattis Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Oddometer:
    3,955
    Location:
    East of the seas of Kattegat
    Oil change hose does the trick, you can get all the parts necessary for 15- 20 bucks at your local hydraulic shop.
    All that shiny over priced bling is not necessary.
    #7
    Chainwhip likes this.
  8. discoganya

    discoganya Engineer, Rider, Dad

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Oddometer:
    316
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    OK I tried to start the bike with just one tank and it does not start ...
    #8
  9. discoganya

    discoganya Engineer, Rider, Dad

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Oddometer:
    316
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    God what a PITA!

    Oil is changed but before I put the WHOLE bike back ... I cannot figure out where this 10mm washer goes?

    I changed --

    1. Oil drain bolt copper washer
    2. Oil filter & black rubber o-ring
    3. Oil screen & green rubber gasket
    4. Oil tank drain bolt copper washer
    5. Oil tank screen & thick green gasket/o-ring

    wow!

    I don't know where this sucker goes ... any ideas?

    [​IMG]

    BTW I checked this thread and no mention of small 10mm washer?

    https://advrider.com/f/threads/my-modified-990-adventure-30-minute-oil-change.853453/
    #9
  10. Whodatschrome

    Whodatschrome Long timer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Oddometer:
    2,927
    Location:
    North of North Plains
    ^^^The small 10mm washer goes under the small 10mm bolt
    #10
  11. Xcelite

    Xcelite Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Oddometer:
    156
    Location:
    Corner of No and Where.
    I am on a 950 so I am not read up on the fuel injected systems of the 990. But I dont see how it would matter so long as the tank with the pump in it is connected to the throttle bodies and the electrical connections are left intact.
    #11
  12. NitroAcres

    NitroAcres MotoBiggots Suck Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,043
    Location:
    A ChickenHouse in NorthGeorgia
    Changing oil on my 950 is maybe a 1-1/2 beer deal...less if I get in a hurry and is kind of enjoyable, it gives you a chance to spend time in the shop and listen to some good tunes, spin some wrenches and do fun stuff.
    #12
    Salzig, Jeff Sichoe and Whodatschrome like this.
  13. Whodatschrome

    Whodatschrome Long timer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Oddometer:
    2,927
    Location:
    North of North Plains
    I agree, but my local hydraulic shop is about 45 minutes away...then 15 to 20 minutes at their shop, then another 45 minute drive back home. Then I’m guessing another 15 minutes to assemble all the parts in my own shop. I’m all about fabbing up my own stuff, but sometimes it doesn’t pay for itself. In my case, it was less expensive for me to just order one up from a vendor here.
    #13
  14. Whodatschrome

    Whodatschrome Long timer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Oddometer:
    2,927
    Location:
    North of North Plains
    There has been some discussion that the oil tank screen doesn’t need to be cleaned out at every oil change. I just added a drain hose to my bike a couple days ago. And my plan was to NOT clean my screen at every oil change.
    #14
    Chainwhip and Jeff Sichoe like this.
  15. Salzig

    Salzig Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,370
    Location:
    Cremona, Italy
    After the first 2 or 3 oil changes (in the life of the bike), it is pretty useless to check the tank screen at every oil change.
    Once every other change is more than enough.
    #15
    Jeff Sichoe, Crazygreek and Boatman like this.
  16. Peltsi

    Peltsi Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Oddometer:
    127
    Location:
    Finland
    3 hours for the oil change is only a part of that KTM racing pedigree. Same as air filter chance takes an hour to do.

    So far I've noticed that wheels are one thing that is made easy to take off/ install in this bike.
    #16
  17. NitroAcres

    NitroAcres MotoBiggots Suck Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,043
    Location:
    A ChickenHouse in NorthGeorgia
    3 hour Oil Changes, 1 Hour Air Filter Changes...?? Wait a minute...perhaps you need to set your beer down and use BOTH Hands to work on the bike...:rofl
    #17
  18. mountaincadre

    mountaincadre Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,737
    Location:
    Mid Calder,Scotland
    1 hour oil and filters,(all of them) 1 1/2 hours is the norm though as a cup ae cha is a must, you'll get quicker peltsi.
    #18
  19. bobone

    bobone Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Oddometer:
    226
    Location:
    italy
    if this was in the filter kit, it is extra, maybe goes on somehting friction related, but you can trow it in a cabinet.

    if it was on your bike before... i don't remember.
    #19
  20. Boatman

    Boatman Membership has it's privileges ;-) Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Oddometer:
    14,110
    Location:
    Mill Spring, NC

    10mm ID or OD?
    #20