R100R mystic cafe build

Discussion in 'Airheads' started by pommie john, Mar 28, 2019.

1. pommie john

pommie john Long timer

Oddometer:
    I bought a load of boxes which are supposed to contain a 1992 R100R Mystic. It's missing forks, tank and seat, but most of the rest seems to be there.
    I'm thinking about a cafe/tracker bike. I'm getting too old for clip ons so the street tracker style appeals.

I've done a youtube video and I'll be doing more as the build progresses.

So far, I've fitted a set of GSXR forks after a false start with Hyosung GT650 froks which were rubbish, but their triple clamps fit the Suzuki forks quite well.
    47296395_10218240468345339_4324959817132146688_n.jpg

I've got a nice seat from a Suzuki TR750 race bike and I was going to modify the subframe to fit it, but I think I might build a new subframe simply because the original Mystic subframe seems to be worth a few dollars on ebay.

I'm not a professional bike builder so I'm sure I'll be making mistakes along the way and I won't be hiding them so others can learn from my errors :)

Cogswell, BMW851, Pezz_gs and 7 others like this.
  2. 2WheelTraveler

2WheelTraveler backinthesaddleagain Supporter

Oddometer:
    Looks like you're off to a good start.
    :lurk
  3. isheyesheis

isheyesheis Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hi John,
    Great video, looking good already.
    I've a question about the Hyosung triple clamps, what is the offset of them, and the fork bore size for the top and bottom?
    Many thanks
    Stuart
  4. Boxerbreath

Boxerbreath 2017.5 GS Black Storm

Oddometer:
    Nice start. Did I hear you say 'street tracker'? What's a street tracker?
  5. Kiwiabbo

Kiwiabbo Been here awhile

Oddometer: