1. eNewsletter Sign Up

r1100S Terrible running and I'm stumped

Discussion in 'Road Warriors' started by benjbeiler, Mar 25, 2020.

1. benjbeiler

benjbeiler Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hello all, I am not sure quite where I should put this, but it seems most oilhead wisdom resides here. My question is regarding a 1999 R1100s with about 38,000 miles. My apologies in advance if this is the wrong place, and many thanks for any help y'all can give! I'm also posting this in the R1100s specific forum over in Road Warriors.

Here is the deal:
    I bought the bike wrecked (front end collision) and after about a year of sitting around, finally got it fixed and started riding it. My first Beemer cause I've always been scared of them because of my dad's RT always needing work done. :) I'm not a pro mechanic by any means, but I'm not scared of taking my bikes apart either. That said, this bike is a hoot to ride, and his bike has well over 100k.

Several weeks ago I was out on a ride, and thought I felt a little surging. Nothing crazy, but seemed a bit off. The next few times I was out it got progressively worse, till it basically wouldn't run. When I would roll on the throttle it would almost die, then kind of catch and go again. It also started idling terribly. It really felt like it wasn't getting fuel. So... I pulled it apart to check some things. In pursuit of this I thought a little maintenance would be in order, so I started replacing some things as well. So far I have:

-Installed new spark plugs (basic autolite ones)
    -Installed new spark plug wires (sorry if I use the wrong names for things)
    -Checked compression (about 155 on the left, 157 on the right, WOT)
    -Checked spark (removed boot, installed old spark plug, and held it to cylinder head) Both sides spark away, brightly, but I'm not an expert at diagnosing exactly what they should look like. Looks to me like it's sparking like crazy!