R1200gsa cracked engine case

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by Bikermousefrommars, Apr 24, 2020.

1. Bikermousefrommars

Bikermousefrommars Grease Pit

Oddometer:
    First of all, want to say I’m new to post here even tho I’ve read posts here for quite a while.. what a great site and forum!

So, I’ve been riding bikes for quite a while, and made trips around Europe for a years. But I made a trip to Russia and Romania last summer with my softail.. I love the bike and the roads, but damn.. braking my spine on the potholes of rural Russia I decided to go Adventure. So, being the 6ft 7 I am, I settled on a big reliable bike that I wouldn’t get heart problems even if the bike would kiss the gravel every once in a while. So I bought a 2007 1200gsa. And to make it an adventure, I flew to the UK, got one, and started my trip around the kingdom and back to the cold north (Finland). What a sweet trip!

Well now, having spent hundreds of hours adding adventure gear and making the bike more terrain worthy during these cold months, I went yet again to the woods. I’ve read about the skid guard, it’s too little and flimsy and all.. never really given it a thought more than that. Well, riding on the trail, a small pot hole came along, and THOMP.. there goes the skid plate, pushing the rubber cushion through the engine case, and out runs the oil. After two liters of sweat and some swear words I get to see the damage. Now I have a 2 inch (5cm) round hole on the left hand corner of the engine case. The hole is neat and no bits seems to be in the case.