R1250GSA: Added Remus Header & Can - Re-map Fueling Options?

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by Mike M, Oct 12, 2019 at 11:44 AM.

1. Mike M

Mike M Long-timer... Supporter

Oddometer:
    I just moved the Remus can from my R1200 GS LC and installed a new Remus header on my ‘20 R1250GSA. Both Remus and Akra websites indicate “we recommend re-fueling” when installing their headers.

I had this can and a Remus header on the ‘16 R1200GS and I didn’t have to remap, but the R1250 is getting an initial (brief) pop on hard acceleration—every time. It doesn’t seem to be coming from the can (the normal popping sound with an aftermarket exhaust), it seems the fueling needs adjusting. Of course, I’m no mechanic so I might be FOS.

I know Brentune offers a remap flash—has anyone done it on the 1250—and are there other or better alternatives?[​IMG]
    NorthIdaho800gsa and gadgettr1 like this.
  2. NorthIdaho800gsa

NorthIdaho800gsa Bad influence

Oddometer:
    Did your 1200 can go on with no problems?
  3. SidewinderX

SidewinderX Hey, watch this! Super Supporter

Oddometer:
    That “pop” is shifty working.

I hear it on my full Akro 1250 as well.
  4. LAFS

LAFS Long timer

Oddometer:
    Yes if you are using SAP and hear it it is the "nature of the beast". Even with a PC V tuner it does it.
  5. Lead Wrist

Lead Wrist More Gelände less Straße

Oddometer:
    Older Hex/Camheads were popping on decel and I loved it so much... Not sure what's like on Shifty and if I'd like it but would definitely like to experience it....

How's new system noise-wise comparing to stock? As loud? Louder? Not louder but deeper growling?? :dunnoNeed to keep neighbours happy and make sure not too many lives are saved with louder boxer pipes... :lol3

Side comment: your, I'm guessing Clearwater, lights may be installed too much outboard and that may not be an optimal position if you run out of talent... Can they be flipped for 180 to go inboard on the other side of tank guards??
  6. Mike M