Rade Garage Review

Discussion in 'Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)' started by craigincali, Jun 13, 2014.

  1. docwyte

    docwyte Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Oddometer:
    2,546
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    The Rade 990RR kit used Xenon H1 bulbs for the lights.

    For the halos I don't think those are replaceable without replacing the entire projector housing, which is a Xenon M328.
  2. 9one8racing

    9one8racing Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Oddometer:
    26
    Location:
    Parker, AZ
    I've got the Rade 990RR kit on my 2013 and I love it however it leaves a little to be desired in the lighting department. I bought the bike used with the kit already on it and have noticed in some pictures of bikes with the kits both lights are on at the same time. Both lights only come on mine when I have my high beams on and I know theses are Bi-xenon bulbs so shouldn't both be on with low beam and both be on with high beam? It's too damn dark with my low beams on at night.
  3. craigincali

    craigincali I'll try it.

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Oddometer:
    3,314
    Location:
    A town called Hell
    I wasnt too happy with the lighting either. Ended up selling it and just bought the Rade screen for the stock headlight .bought a high output bulb from someone on this site and then I was happy
  4. 9one8racing

    9one8racing Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Oddometer:
    26
    Location:
    Parker, AZ
    Well I went ahead and did some wiring modifications that doubled my light output. Since the projectors are bi-xenon (hi and lo beam) I swapped the pins around on the plug. Now low beam has both lights on and hi beam switch only operates the hi-beam shutter solenoid in the projectors. I adjusted them according to the factory ktm specs and its much better. Less flicker on my rigid led cubes too on hi beam setting.
  5. blakken

    blakken dirt napper

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Oddometer:
    207
    Location:
    north sweden
    Any one that have a picture that show how mutch its tilted forward compared to oem screen??
    I looking for screen that should give me more space for roadbook


    Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk
  6. 9one8racing

    9one8racing Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Oddometer:
    26
    Location:
    Parker, AZ
    I'll see what I have for pictures on my phone. If I don't have any I'll snap some tonight.
  7. mroddis

    mroddis Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Oddometer:
    661
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
  8. Turbominivanman

    Turbominivanman Single track anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Oddometer:
    101
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    Here is just a quick pic I had on my phone. Please excuse the messy garage. For reference, there is about 1.25 inch gap between the furthest forward point on the dash where the factory screen would make contact and back side of the Rade screen

    Attached Files:

  9. blakken

    blakken dirt napper

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Oddometer:
    207
    Location:
    north sweden
    Ok thanks
    I have ordered the rally led kit
    Hope it woyld be space to mount my roadbook


    Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk
  10. Turbominivanman

    Turbominivanman Single track anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Oddometer:
    101
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    I have the LED kit on mine. . . . . .I love it.
  11. blakken

    blakken dirt napper

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Oddometer:
    207
    Location:
    north sweden
    Tou dont have a comparsion to the oem screen? Or more pics


    Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk
  12. Turbominivanman

    Turbominivanman Single track anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Oddometer:
    101
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    I can get more pics for you this weekend if you would like, but I no longer have a factory windscreen for a comparison. I went over the bars last year in the dirt and snapped the factory screen off.

    I have a Samsung Galaxy tab 7 that I can place on the dash when taking pictures if you would like.
  13. blakken

    blakken dirt napper

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Oddometer:
    207
    Location:
    north sweden
    It would be great


    Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk
  14. RENCRN8

    RENCRN8 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Oddometer:
    386
    Location:
    Loveland, OH
    I did the same thing tonight. I think it is only double the light when on low beam compared to the way it was before. Before when going to high beam the second bulb came on and both shutters actuated. So in theory the output is the same on hi as it was before. Either way I am happier. That is until Rade has the LED upgrade ready in late June

    9one8racing likes this.
  15. Turbominivanman

    Turbominivanman Single track anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Oddometer:
    101
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    @blakken Here are some pics. I hope they help.

    Attached Files:

  16. Turbominivanman

    Turbominivanman Single track anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Oddometer:
    101
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    All dimensions are in inches

    Attached Files:

  17. Turbominivanman

    Turbominivanman Single track anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Oddometer:
    101
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    .

    Attached Files:

  18. blakken

    blakken dirt napper

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Oddometer:
    207
    Location:
    north sweden

    Tanks man! This will work great


    Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk
  19. Turbominivanman

    Turbominivanman Single track anyone?

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Oddometer:
    101
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    Keep in mind that I don't have a mount for it, so it's just sitting in there. If you need any more pics, just let me know
  20. 950trailrider

    950trailrider Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    57
    I would like to do the same modification on my RADE bi-xenons and have both lights working on low beam as well as high beam.
    (Currently only one light is illuminated on low beam (halos on both), both lights are working on high beam).
    I tried to figure out what to change but it did not work the way I thought.

    RENCRN8 and 9on8racing,what pin(s) did you move or swap to get this to work?