Rally Navigator - Create Rally Roadbooks with Google Earth and GPS

Discussion in 'Racing' started by RenoMoto, Dec 29, 2012.

  1. guns&coffee

    guns&coffee Long timer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,847
    Location:
    Prescott
    So you guys are using an inkjet to print? I've tried to find a setting on my Canon that will let me use the rolls, but haven't found anything that looks right. I think the paper that I have is regular paper.
    How long do you guys make your rolls on the Moose chart holders? I see where I can do a custom size paper for my printer settings.
  2. DoctorDemento

    DoctorDemento n00b

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Oddometer:
    9
    Location:
    Lynnwood, Washington
    Like MasterMarine was saying, we use Epson (T20 I think) thermal receipt printers. Pros, they are designed to use 2.25 rolls, print continuously and are very fast. Cons, they only print in black and white. Every year, once the road book is finalized, I have to fiddle with the PDF and printer settings to get it to look right.

    If you could get the ink jet to work, a little color would go a long way.
    RenoMoto and MasterMarine like this.
  3. homerj

    homerj 742 Evergreen Terrace

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,894
    Location:
    742 Evergreen Terrace
    What is the difference between Cap C (calculated) and Cap A (average). In the past i'd used Cap A for very faint roads that meander a bit off the true cap around bushes etc, but go in the Cap A direction. How is Cap C derived?
  4. rides2little

    rides2little Braaaaaap Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,248
    Location:
    Lost in Utardia
    Average would be a slightly winding road that heads in a general direction, or possibly an HP/OP section where you can't physically travel on a specific cap.
  5. homerj

    homerj 742 Evergreen Terrace

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,894
    Location:
    742 Evergreen Terrace
    That's how I've been using Cap A. So how is that different from Cap C?
  6. rides2little

    rides2little Braaaaaap Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,248
    Location:
    Lost in Utardia
    Just searched the 2020 FIM regulations and there isn't a specific mention other than in the Lexicon page.

    Maybe Calculated means via GPS/satellite imagery rather than on the ground? :hmmmmm
  7. homerj

    homerj 742 Evergreen Terrace

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,894
    Location:
    742 Evergreen Terrace
    Paging @HogWild
  8. HogWild

    HogWild Scott Whitney

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,181
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know what the calculated heading is. I had the same question the first time I saw it. My guess is it's the straight line heading to the next point as measured from Google Earth or similar, though I'm not sure about that. I have a lot of questions about the new lexicon list. Whoever created that needs to give a sentence or two to describe each item that isn't completely obvious.
  9. RenoMoto

    RenoMoto Rally Navigator Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    447
    Location:
    Sitting at My Computer
    rides2little likes this.
  10. HogWild

    HogWild Scott Whitney

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,181
    Location:
    USA
    From Shorty, with translations added...
    upload_2020-5-3_21-31-23.png

    upload_2020-5-3_21-32-9.png

    upload_2020-5-3_21-32-59.png

    upload_2020-5-3_21-33-45.png
    rides2little and RenoMoto like this.
  11. patek_ambassador

    patek_ambassador Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Oddometer:
    56
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Does anyone have any Roadbook files on the east coast in the US they can share? I’m looking to practice my Roadbook skills but so few adequate areas on the east coast.
  12. DasPol

    DasPol n00b

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    Poland
    Hello,
    I have a little problem with creating new route trip. Everything was very good to one point. When I tried add a new route indicator, landmarks, sign ... etc. instead show on my screen normal black and clear marks I see a very poor visible markings like it will be a watermark... I get a PrtSc what I mean.
    I tried restart everything, even computer, but Roadbook still remembering not good visible markings when I adding.
    Anybody know what wrong is? Problem.png
  13. desabrir

    desabrir Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Are you still editing that tulip? Try closing it out.
  14. desabrir

    desabrir Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I made one for the red portion of the Smokey Mountain 500.

    https://www.rallynavigator.com/routes/103019

    I will eventually make one for the remaining sections, but I want to ride them first.
  15. DasPol

    DasPol n00b

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    Poland
    It's doesn't matter, is still poor visible. I tried adding tulips on other My Roadbooks and I see on every "my roadbook" after 10'th checkpoint every markings is poor... On every roadbook, even my old when I creating them 3 yrs ago, after 10th checkpoint is changed on poor visible markings...
  16. rides2little

    rides2little Braaaaaap Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,248
    Location:
    Lost in Utardia
    Guessing you have a free account, and not paid......

    You can only see the basic lines with the free account.


    This is what a free account looks like...

    Free.jpg

    This is what a paid account looks like....

    Paid.jpg
    RenoMoto likes this.
  17. DasPol

    DasPol n00b

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    Poland
    Omg... I was think so it will be a premium version... like 3 years ago was everything normal :| So.. is just left end what I started and re-marking all :<
    Thx for help guys!
  18. Kostas Th

    Kostas Th n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Oddometer:
    5
    Location:
    Athens Greece
    Hello Mike,
    When I prepare a roadbook as a "Road Rally" version I want to enter some symbols from "Cross Country" version. So I switch from "Road Rally" to "Cross Country", I insert the sign I wish and then I switch again to "Road Rally". Unfortunatelly signs from "Cross Country" are not visibile to "Road Rally" even if I use this trick. In previous years that was possible. Is it possible to have again such availability? I know that is not proper according to FIA and FIM regulations but still is very helpful for me.
    ( I use the PRO edition of Rallynavigator)
    Thanx
  19. Kostas Th

    Kostas Th n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Oddometer:
    5
    Location:
    Athens Greece
    and a second request .... if possible :)
    Can you in include in "Cross Country" roadbook version the possibility to use this format on the top of each page? (its from "Road Rally" version).
    Again I know that does not comply with FIA FIM standards but still is very helpful.
    Thanx again !
    rally.JPG
  20. RenoMoto

    RenoMoto Rally Navigator Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    447
    Location:
    Sitting at My Computer

    Hi - sent you a PM asking for more info.