Reasons for Cruise Control Failure?

Discussion in 'Parallel World (790/890)' started by sims159914, Jul 15, 2020.

  1. WI-790R

    WI-790R Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Oddometer:
    207
    Location:
    Cochrane, Wisconsin
    Right. In this case the petcocks don’t directly prevent fuel flow to the injection system (like on most bikes), they are located at each end of a balance hose that allows fuel to flow from side to side. So with the petcock closed on the side opposite the internal fuel pickup, it will “run out of gas” with the other side holding all its fuel.
    #61
  2. Tigerkf

    Tigerkf Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Oddometer:
    227
    Location:
    USA
    If that happens, how much unused fuel would be in said tank? Where is the petcock you're referring to is it accessible with the tank on or is it under the tank?
    #62
  3. sluagh

    sluagh not fade away

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2019
    Oddometer:
    448
    Location:
    USA
    If you close the petcock on the right side, fuel cannot go from the right lobe to the left. The pump pulls fuel from the left side so the engine will run until the left tank lobe is empty. The fuel level sensor is in the right lobe so it won't show any decrease in fuel level. This is what I experienced. The engine started to behave like it was out of gas but the gauge still showed >1/2 tank. This is how I figured out that the right side petcock was closed.

    The petcock is at the bottom of the tank. You can reach it in between the tank guard and the tank without removing the guard.

    I think if you close the petcock on the left it shuts off the fuel completely.
    #63
  4. Tigerkf

    Tigerkf Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Oddometer:
    227
    Location:
    USA
    The reason I ask is when I ran out of fuel with the gauge still reading 1/2, I could only put 4.1 gallons in the tank. I'm wondering if there would only be around a gallon left in the unused tank?
    #64
  5. sluagh

    sluagh not fade away

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2019
    Oddometer:
    448
    Location:
    USA
    The fuel gauge only shows the last 1/2 tank. Assuming everything is working properly and starting with a full tank, you will not see any change in the fuel indicator until the fuel level is less than 1/2 tank. Those 5 segments in the indicator represent the last 1/2 tank or 0.5x5.3 = 2.65 gallons, which is .53 gallons per segment. So if you were seeing only 2 or 3 segments indicated then you only had somewhere between 1 and 1.5 gallons left and it makes sense that it would take about 4.1 gallons to refill.
    #65
    CarterFury likes this.
  6. Tigerkf

    Tigerkf Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Oddometer:
    227
    Location:
    USA
    Here is what my fuel gauge read when I ran out of fuel.

    Fuel Gauge.jpg
    #66
  7. [Art]

    [Art] Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Oddometer:
    465
    Location:
    France
    #67
  8. Tigerkf

    Tigerkf Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Oddometer:
    227
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks!
    #68
  9. marchyman

    marchyman barely informed Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Oddometer:
    15,198
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Yup. My bike was delivered to me a year ago this month with the right petcock closed. I ran out of fuel trying to get home after a dinner the evening I picked up the bike. Hadn't a clue about the petcocks having only owned the bike for a few hours. My instrument panel read 1/2 or more remaining with a fuel range of > 110 miles.
    #69
  10. sims159914

    sims159914 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Oddometer:
    211
    Location:
    PA

    Getting this back on topic and a bit of an update...

    Bad news: all of the parameters on the bike are in spec. Shop spent a while on the phone with ktm who advised to give changing the front brake light switch a try. No luck. Seems we will be chasing a ghost issue here.

    Good news: the shop is awesome. Also ktm is going to warranty even though bike was 2 months outside of factory warranty. Also shop loaded the QS as a “sorry you have to go through this crap” bonus.

    I’ll come back with a update when I have one. They are awaiting a call from ktm to try again on another fix.
    #70
    CarterFury and Wearyeyed like this.
  11. sims159914

    sims159914 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Oddometer:
    211
    Location:
    PA
    FIXED!

    So in my case it was the clutch switch that was the issue. While all of the electrical parameters checked out on the bike one of the wires going to the clutch switch was ever so slightly loose and when pulled on came right out of the switch. The only indication that the clutch switch could have been an issue is that the bike wouldn’t start in first with the clutch in and the kickstand up.

    Hope this helps someone else down the line.
    #71
    Crusty the Clown likes this.
  12. AdvRonski

    AdvRonski They call me......Ronski

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,720
    Location:
    Finally made it to Fruita!
    It may have been the only indication, but it's a big one. A good tech should have found that in less than 5 minutes. It's like saying, " I know the oil light was on, but other than that, there was no indication that the engine was going to blow up".
    #72
    brianbrannon likes this.
  13. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,971
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    Harsh but accurate. LOL.
    #73
  14. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,971
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    Well add me to the list. CC died a a bit ago. Goes solid yellow when activated but shows zero mph on the cc readout on the dash when moving at any speed and cant be set. Just failed out of the blue while tooling down the interstate.

    Could have picked a better time to fail. :(

    Guess I'll find out how much some nerve damage in my throttle hand wants to play up in the next few days. Maybe it will change its mind and start working again. *shrug*

    Gotta love KTMs attention to the details... lol.
    #74
    Tigerkf likes this.
  15. Gaulin

    Gaulin Orange (& Blue) Crush

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Oddometer:
    463
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canuckistan
    Bummer, that is shite timing for your long trip.
    I've thought of this happening and possible backup for 10000 km worth of highway.....

    If you get a short bungee, you can at least have a makeshift throttle lock wrapping it around a mirror stalk or similar to provide enough friction on the throttle.
    Poor replacement for real CC, but better than nothing.
    #75
    windblown101 likes this.
  16. gsuks

    gsuks Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,787
    Location:
    wilnis de ronde venen nederland
    a dying TFT was my cause of cc not working(a tech logged in from ktm Austria discovered this, they can see a lot more than a dealer tech)
    all the usual suspects were not a problem in my case
    #76
  17. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,971
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    That might be it. After my next fuel stop it decided to start working again.
    #77
  18. WI-790R

    WI-790R Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Oddometer:
    207
    Location:
    Cochrane, Wisconsin
    Mine will occasionally do this...it will not let me set a speed setpoint. Had it back to the dealer, they re-flashed it. It still does it now and then. I found through experimentation, that if I reboot the ecu by turning the key switch to off, waiting a few seconds for capacitors to discharge, then restarting the bike, it will usually then work again. I’d be interested in knowing if that works for you.
    #78
  19. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,971
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    I'll let you know.
    #79
  20. Tigerkf

    Tigerkf Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Oddometer:
    227
    Location:
    USA
    After being at the dealer for a few weeks and flying in a KTM tech they were unable to figure out what was wrong with my CC. Finally the techs in Austria decided that a brake switch that had previously been replaced was replaced with a bad switch. After they replaced the switch a second time, it works as its supposed to. I had some of the same symptoms you have. Good luck!
    #80
    CarterFury likes this.