Relocate Navigator VI on F850 GS

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by Sugi, Feb 9, 2020.

  1. Sugi

    Sugi n00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Oddometer:
    9
    Location:
    Eden, Utah
    Has anybody moved their Navigator to a higher location? I just added a GIVI tank bag, and it completely covers my GPS.

    Thanks!
    #1
  2. KW Guy

    KW Guy Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Oddometer:
    22
    Location:
    Aurora, Colorado
    I used a $30 Ebay Chinese relocation bar to reposition the GPS mount above the TFT display. It was fairly easy to install; the hardest part was removing some of the zip ties holding the power cable so that I had enough slack to move the GPS. The GPS does end up sticking up above the stock windscreen by about two inches, so I swapped it for a Touratech Touring windscreen. Here are some shots of the stock screen. The GPS does vibrate some in the new mount.

    20200129_161337_003.jpg

    20200129_160804.jpg
    #2
  3. Emb120

    Emb120 Adventurer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2019
    Oddometer:
    95
    Location:
    Mountain West
    I did on my 2019 GSA by using BMW part number 659085446101 for the factory navigation holder at $ 181.76. Looking at the other aftermarket options from vendors in Germany the price was almost a wash.
    #3
  4. Emb120

    Emb120 Adventurer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2019
    Oddometer:
    95
    Location:
    Mountain West
    20200210_003707.jpg
    #4
  5. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider I've been lost here before...

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    6,876
    Location:
    South Jersey... Close to the Pines
    I went to a spring shop near me and had a square "U" bolt bent to my specs. I made the brackets and had a buddy weld it up for me. Total cost $25...

    IMG_20190712_124615.jpg IMG_20190712_142434.jpg IMG_20190712_150428.jpg IMG_20190712_150735.jpg IMG_20190712_150750.jpg
    #5
    NaMi likes this.
  6. proeasy

    proeasy Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Oddometer:
    548
    Location:
    Motown
    Yep, on the GSA need the BMW ($$) Bracket or custom solution. I have an Ebay one available for the Standard GS in the market place. As noted toughest part of the relocation is cutting Zip Ties for the GPS cable, best to remove to the front fork splash shied.
    #6
  7. Sugi

    Sugi n00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Oddometer:
    9
    Location:
    Eden, Utah
    Thanks for the replies!
    #7
  8. dolomite

    dolomite Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Oddometer:
    81
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Maybe this differs from bike to bike but I only had to remove the upper-most zip tie to get enough slack to relocate.

    OP: if you have a non-A GS the ebay version would be your best bet. If you have the GSA you'll need either the BMW part number up in post #3, or $30 cheaper and 2 wks of shipping this one from Germany.

    View attachment 2127275
    #8
  9. Sugi

    Sugi n00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Oddometer:
    9
    Location:
    Eden, Utah
    Thanks for the reply! Was any additional mounting hardware needed for the bracket or the GPS unit? The dealership isn't sure about additional mounting screws, and they're wanting $4 each. I have the Nav VI. Will the factory bracket mount to the new bar? Thanks!
    #9
  10. Emb120

    Emb120 Adventurer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2019
    Oddometer:
    95
    Location:
    Mountain West
    Not on the GSA because the two screws that you are supposed to remove are already M6x40. I was only able to find that Navigation holder part number when looking at the F850GS parts diagram. My guess it that since the GSA has a articulating windscreen where the GS I believe does not, the GSA already has the longer screws. The Navigation holder is the same diameter bar as the mount that comes on the bike, so all you have to do is just bolt the oem mount to the new nav bar.

    Navmount.png
    #10
  11. rigalpha

    rigalpha n00b

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #11
  12. Ian-NH

    Ian-NH Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Oddometer:
    58
    Location:
    Raymond NH
    Can you remove the Nav mount from a GSA?

    I will never buy that Nav and have never used Nav on a bike. Is it simply a matter of unbolting it and following the wire to a plug? I won’t be getting my bike delivered for a week or so and just planning ahead.

    2019 F850GSA

    Thanks
    #12
  13. Xyzzy

    Xyzzy Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    86
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Yes, it is easy to remove.

    There is a phone adapter available for the mount if you look a bit.
    #13
  14. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider I've been lost here before...

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    6,876
    Location:
    South Jersey... Close to the Pines
    The wire/cable loops around a bit before getting to the plug but if you look under the TFT and look forward between the Bars and the tank there will be a white plug on the right that is the nav harness plug. I would as the dealer for the cap that came on the harness that they removed to install the nav mount just to seal off the connector when you remove the mount.
    #14
  15. dolomite

    dolomite Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Oddometer:
    81
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
  16. mazocar

    mazocar Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Oddometer:
    105
    Location:
    NJ / NC
    #16
  17. Ian-NH

    Ian-NH Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Oddometer:
    58
    Location:
    Raymond NH
    Once you move the bracket can you re-use the 4 bolts on the handlebar clamp or do you have to buy different/shorter ones?
    #17
  18. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider I've been lost here before...

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    6,876
    Location:
    South Jersey... Close to the Pines
    You can use the same bolts they just stick up a bit. I went to the local hardware store and bought 4 button head stainless Allen bolts just to plug the holes in the top of the bolts.
    #18
  19. AdamChandler

    AdamChandler Ascending n00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Oddometer:
    7,183
    Location:
    Hanover, NH USA
    #19
  20. jmcarter

    jmcarter Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Oddometer:
    113
    Location:
    Savannah Ga and Port Ludlow WA
    I gave them my “notify me when available” email, perhaps a dumb question but is it better to go ahead and pre-order? Will need NLT April and hate to wait around only to ultimately resort to paying for BMW’s piece (yea, I’m tight).
    #20