Return to The Other Down Under: Again With The V-Strom in New Zealand

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by skyguy, Jan 20, 2019.

1. skyguy

skyguy Been here awhile Supporter

Oddometer:
    [​IMG]

I said I’d be back.

Hello again – it’s me, skyguy. You may remember me from such ride reports as Iceland… Scotland… Canadaland… Eclipseland… and others.

But it all started with New Zealand.

[​IMG]

A couple of years after I started riding motorbikes, I decided to give myself an adventure for my 50th birthday: New Zealand by motorcycle. You can read all about it at that link. Suffice to say, it was the adventure of a lifetime and really confirmed that riding motorcycles in amazing places was a thing I wanted to do more of.

[​IMG]

My 2011 New Zealand trip introduced me to this wonderful country, but two weeks was short enough for me to realize I’d only scratched the surface of the spectacle. Every day, I’d add another NZ destination to my “next time” list, knowing I’d be back some day. And it only took me 7 1/2 years to get back.

[​IMG]

Finally, in the middle of a two year long project at work, I promised myself: At the end of this project, I’m going back to New Zealand. That gave me ample time to get my bosses used to the idea of me disappearing for three whole weeks in a row.

Once the employer was on board, I started figuring out the exact dates. It worked out that late October / early November was going to work, and the arrangements began. Remember the seasons are swapped down there compared to up here, so it should feel like our April/May.

Springtime in New Zealand. What’s not to like?

[​IMG]
  2. skyguy

Oddometer:
    DAY ZERO – 26-28 October, 2018

I’ll skip over all the planning and routing and reserving, because it would end up being a picture of me sitting in front of my computer. Planning is only interesting to the planner.

[​IMG]