Ride Report - DIrt Bike Class(long)

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by MojaveSidecar, Nov 9, 2004.

1. MojaveSidecar

MojaveSidecar Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hi All

I purchased my A17 last year with the idea it would be the perfect motorcycle for touring throughout Baja, mainland Mexico and the southwest deserts. It has been a dream of mine to do this ever since I got my first motorcycle at age 15, but for some reason, I never really had the time or resources until now.

I have been riding street bikes on a daily basis for over 35 years and have owned over 20 motorcycles during this time including a dual-sport or two (no dirt bikes however), but I never took any of them off-road in any serious capacity. My last dual-sport, a '92 R100GS was a lot of fun, but riding in the dirt was an uncomfortable, white-knuckling experience for me because of lack of training/skills in the dirt. I once got the GS buried so deep in the sand in Jawbone Canyon, that I could not get it unstuck myself. Had to have a passing jeep pull me out. This is one of the main reasons I chose my new KLR over a Beemer for my travels.

I figured that since I might possibly encounter some sand and dirt in Baja;-) it might be a good idea to get some serious dirt learnin' under my belt before I ventured down there. I figured there were two approaches to this problem. The first would be to take my new/stock A17 with 1200 miles out to the desert and figure out how to dirt ride myself. But given my age(i'm older), utter lack of dirt riding experience, and lack of knowledge as to proper bike preparation, the prospect of going out to the desert, crashing and dying seemed like very real possibility. So I chose the other approach, take some dirt bike classes.

A search of the web lead me to two possibilities. The first was Jimmy Lewis school, but I quickly ruled this out for several reasons: