Ride report...f800gs...first impression

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by 3Rugrs4GA, Mar 7, 2009.

1. 3Rugrs4GA

3Rugrs4GA Long timer

Oddometer:
    I took delivery of my BMW f800gs this afternoon and spent 3 or 4 hours getting intimate with her! I am just getting back into recreational riding after an 18 year layoff (way too long, what was I thinking). My impressions and opinions are not comparative to other new bikes, rather they are just opinions of this bike.

I logged 135 miles this afternoon. All 135 were "easy" miles though suburban sprawl, sub-divisions, and rural roads. I did not push the bike because I am a nOOB (conservative approach) and I want to follow the Beemer's recommended "run-in" requirements. Most roads were single lane two-way....some that were wooded, and some through farmlands.

Handing Impressions - After just 20 miles I found myself thinking this motorcycle was just like riding a bicycle...you know how they say "you never forget how to ride a bike". I was extremely comfortable after just 20 miles and 30-40 minutes in the saddle. Although this bike is much bigger than anything I drove 18 yrs ago, it feels extremely nimble, meaning I had no problem moving the bike side to side with my arms, ass, and legs. I cringed as I came upon a few seams, dips, potholes, but the big 21" upfront coupled with the forks soaked them up and instilled confidence.