Ride South! ⬇️– In Colombia! San Francisco to Patagonia on an R NineT & HP2 Enduro

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by caliform, Nov 25, 2015.

1. caliform

caliform Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Buenas dias, fellow inmates! It's a cold morning here in Santa Barbara as I sit here writing this, a map of Baja on the table next to me and my buddy's bike in pieces in the garage.

'We' is yours truly, Sebastiaan, and my great friend and much better rider Stuart. We're both photographers (Stuart is also a video producer by trade, me a designer).

[​IMG]

(the kind folks at Rev'it kindly outfitted us with full-on space suits for this expedition! We'll be reviewing those on our own website)

At the moment, we're stationed at Stu's aunt in Santa Barbara, to fix up some last things and enjoy Thanksgiving with his sister. We rode out with a bunch of friends, all the way down the Pacific Coast Highway.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Nice variety of bikes!

[​IMG]

We're two days from riding to San Diego, which makes it three days until we drive through the border at Tecate. If you have tips for Baja, Mexico or any part of our ride please let us know!

We'd previously ridden from San Francisco to Prudhoe Bay:

[​IMG]

(I am still updating that Ride Report -- I simply hadn't gotten around to it. But I will finish it! I hope this is OK to have two reports going at a time... if not mods, feel free to remove :'( )

It was an incredible ride. In fact, I think me and Stuart agree that we'd never simply felt so alive as we had during that trip. After having reached the top of the continent, we've been naturally moving our ambitions South... and concluded we have to ride down to the Southernmost tip we can reach.

Thus begins our Ride South -- we'll be riding for 3-4 months, upon which we'll briefly return to SF for a stretch of video / photo editing and work before we return once more to finish the job.

Next: I'll introduce our bikes and setup for this ride! :norton