Roadtripping while working remote

Discussion in 'Americas' started by thecottonrapster, Jun 15, 2021.

1. thecottonrapster

thecottonrapster n00b

Oddometer:
    Two months ago I moved to NYC for a new job, corporate, ~9-6ish, work from home. I'm a new rider, got my license 1 year ago. Have driven ~12,000 km, most on a 4 month road trip.

I have a Vstrom 650. I want to spend July/August traveling while working. The idea is to ride during weekends and work from Airbnbs/Motels during the week.

Would love advice if anyone's previously motorcycle road tripped while working remote. Things I'm thinking about:
    • access to wifi/cellular coverage
    • mechanical problems (i have no experience with this)
      • Tool kit suggestions? I have a tire puncture kit, bike pump, zip ties, leatherman tool, electric & duct tape.
    • I've signed up for AAA w/ moto coverage. Anything else I should think about?
    Any advice or suggestions welcome. I haven't picked a route, mostly focused on places where it will not be excessively hot. Also away from large urban centers to save on motel money and avoid traffic.
  2. bugoutmoto

bugoutmoto Adventurer

Oddometer:
    That sounds like a great plan. I'm sure you could make it work. A few times I've gone to the park and worked from a picnic table or shelter using a hotspot off my phone. So maybe do a combination of Airbnbs/motels with an occasional outdoor day. My advice is don't tell anyone at work what you're up to. Start off with some small trips to test out your load out and gear. Then gradually go for longer and farther trips as you figure it out.
    Zubb likes this.
  3. WileyRTW

WileyRTW Wiley

Oddometer: