Rotary LED Light Dimmer

Discussion in 'Vendors' started by sanjoh, May 31, 2012.

  1. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,095
    Location:
    ADVmonster, CFL, WNC
    Just released!

    [​IMG]

    More information available here.
    #1
  2. GsVs

    GsVs Goin' Somewhere

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Oddometer:
    1,822
    Location:
    (TN) USA
    I've been waiting on these .... just ordered two ...

    Do I get a bonus for being the first to order :D .... just kidding ..

    Thanks ...

    #2
  3. Jazz62

    Jazz62 Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,982
    Location:
    PNW
    Does this have a left detent click for on/off?
    #3
  4. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,095
    Location:
    ADVmonster, CFL, WNC
    Thanks, you were in the first 10 to purchase, will send some nice reflective stickers:D with your order.

    It has a detent for on/off. Not sure what you mean by left:ear
    #4
  5. Jazz62

    Jazz62 Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,982
    Location:
    PNW
    Sorry, I meant the detent click for the off position is in the counter clockwise direction?
    #5
  6. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,095
    Location:
    ADVmonster, CFL, WNC
    Yes, counter clockwise reduces the light output until it reaches off with a detent.
    #6
  7. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,095
    Location:
    ADVmonster, CFL, WNC
    Fits nicely behind the brake resevoir.
    [​IMG]

    Another angle
    [​IMG]

    Easy to reach with a thumb. I don't recommend adjusting while underway:D
    [​IMG]
    #7
  8. Yellow Pig

    Yellow Pig Allergic to asphalt! Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    9,402
    Location:
    SoCal -T.O.
    Fantastic, and it even has a High Beam by-pass.

    Great work.

    Can it be panel Mounted?




    INFO:


    Rotary control of led output.

    Dimming is accomplished by PWM.

    Rotoray detent in off position.

    Connect your high beam to provide full light output when you turn on the high beams.

    Includes connectors male/female for 2 lights.

    Includes connector for 12v DC power (male and female).

    1.5"x1.3"x.8" or 38mmx33mmx20.3mm

    IP67 waterproof

    Suitable for up to 6 amps or 72 watts.
    #8
  9. FL Pepper

    FL Pepper OMGWTFFTW

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,738
    Location:
    Central Ridge
    I mounted mine to an existing bracket that I already had on my handlebars.

    [​IMG]

    It is controlling a set of Model 30s that are mounted on both sides of my headlight. It's across from my wireless dimmer fob that controls a set of Model 60s.

    [​IMG]

    Here are the input and output connections from the unit. 1 male JST plug and 2 female JST receptacles and the high beam bypass wire.

    [​IMG]

    I pigtailed one of my outputs to run an extra output from the dimmer because I also have the LED indicators on my instrument cluster.

    [​IMG]

    LED panel mount indicators mounted on my instrument panel.

    [​IMG]
    #9
  10. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,095
    Location:
    ADVmonster, CFL, WNC
    Thanks!

    Panel mounted as in hole through the panel then bolted. No, it is designed to be surface mounted.
    #10
  11. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,095
    Location:
    ADVmonster, CFL, WNC
    How did you attach it to the bracket?
    #11
  12. FL Pepper

    FL Pepper OMGWTFFTW

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,738
    Location:
    Central Ridge
    It is attached with RTV. That and my voltmeter are held on with RTV and I have had no issues with them staying put.

    [​IMG]
    #12
  13. See red

    See red Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Oddometer:
    167
    Do I need to use the high beam wire? I will only be using these on the back roads.
    #13
  14. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,095
    Location:
    ADVmonster, CFL, WNC
    It's not required. The high beam bypass only uses the high beam signal to trip a relay, no substantial power is used but you will be missing out on a great feature. On the back roads is where it will come in handy, a car or tractor once in a while and you just flick your high beam switch to go to the dimmed setting, pass em by and flick the high beams on for full LED light output.
    #14
  15. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,095
    Location:
    ADVmonster, CFL, WNC
    So you spent the big bucks for that awesome LED off road light only to find out that its too bright for the road or it kills your battery when riding the tight stuff!

    The Rotary LED controller will tame the beast and give you full control over light output. Get the amount of light you want, when you want.

    No FOB to lose:D

    Waterproof

    Gloved hand friendly

    Small size 1.5"x1.3"x.8" or 38mmx33mmx20.3mm
    #15