RPB scouting the Nova Scotia back country.

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Day Trippin'' started by rarepartbuilder, Sep 8, 2018.

1. rarepartbuilder

rarepartbuilder redemption gypsy

Oddometer:
    Hi Folks

I have a side project i have been working on for a couple of years in trying to conjoin loaded bike do- able trails that will lead from Fredericton New Brunswick to Sydney Nova Scotia... {and trust me... i am not leaving many rocks unturned}....to hopefully be considered as a future TCAT offering.

In respect for the thread rules i won't go into any more background...... but will say... it is a two step forward and one step back process because of roads meeting the big loaded bike criteria a previous year ..then washed out almost beyond any use the next year { and too far from suburbia for DOT to care or repair}.

ok to get started.. i am going to rewind to July as the Nova Scotia scouting reports are interconnected to each other.....

July 5th 2018

Very lucky to have both great weather and time to do some more trail scouting in the Truro to Canso zone .. They say that some things comes in threes... and this was one of those days..but more about that later...

I try to find that fine line of the road less travelled .. but still get the bike back home in one piece {or better}... otherwise i could load up the snowmobile or quad routes on the GpS and hit go ...but that is not the reality of dual sport... especially a loaded bike , traversing area's.... miles from suburbia and home.
    This ride is about all that in one mixing pot .. with the worse case scenario {hopefully} .. using those shoes you see on the back of the bike to hike out and away from a bad choice.. or just bad luck.
    To back up a bit ...last year on this same quest i tried a route north of the 104 leaving Truro first at Chisholm road = FAIL

[​IMG]20170809_174858 by Freewillie KLR, on Flickr