1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

Rugged phones to use for gps on bikes.

Discussion in 'Australia' started by rossguzzi, Aug 15, 2020.

1. rossguzzi

rossguzzi 990 Adv.

Oddometer:
    So I am starting to look for a decent phone to also use as a gps on the bike. I have herd of Blackveiw, but have also herd of reliability issues with them.
    Samsung has a ruggerised version but I dont think they sold them in OZ. Could I import one and use it here ?
    I believe the standard connection into a phone is a weak point on corrugations.
    Any first hand experience appreciated.
    Cheers.

My HTC M8 is about to die.
  2. cascade63

cascade63 Gone.

Oddometer:
  3. BLU_FZ1

BLU_FZ1 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Ive been using a Samsung Note 5 since 2015, have gone through many cables but the phone socket is fine, mounted to an X-Grip.
  4. rvt

rvt Big Fat Trail Bikes

Oddometer:
    There is an x-grip mount with a wireless charger built in. This could be the answer?

I gave up and bought a garmin.

The s7 phone was good, except for charging issues and over-temperature shutdowns.
  5. GodSilla

GodSilla I did that.

Oddometer:
    There are a few more Ip-rated phones on the market nowadays.

Try googling Ulefone Armor, some of them have stonking battery life too, shockproof, waterproof, dustproof, rated to stupid temperatures and suchlike. I've got one with a 10,000 mah battery, off-grid mapping installed, and I've been looking for a decent mount for it.

If you don't intend to use it for a phone, ever, you save many bucks by buying non-4G phones too, 'cos all they need is the GPS chip and receiver for navigation. Just be sure check the specs prior to hitting "buy".

Here's a linky so you can get an idea (a good price too btw).