Scenic App for the MABDR

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by gzrglyde, May 10, 2019.

1. gzrglyde

gzrglyde Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I loaded the Scenic app on my iPhone 8 last fall, but Hurricane Michael ruined fall riding for me...we are now back in our home after 6 months of repairs. So the plan now is to ride the MABDR this fall with a friend. Has anyone used the Scenic app for riding BDRs, I am concerned about cell phone reception...maybe I should not be? I have loaded the MABDR map into the Scenic program, but again, have not been able to use it or "play" with the program, so I will be a total newbie to it. Any advice or suggestions are appreciated! Want to know if loading the MABDR maps into Scenic on the iPhone will do the trick, or if I need a dedicated GPS device?
    ohgood likes this.
  2. markbvt

markbvt Long timer

Oddometer:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    Scenic should work great, since the MABDR route is on existing roads. Just make sure you download the maps for the states you'll be riding in -- then cell phone reception won't matter. You don't need a cell signal for GPS positioning, just for data downloads, and since Scenic lets you download maps in advance, that's a nonissue too. (To be clear, I'm talking about the state road maps that Scenic accesses. The MABDR maps you talk about are not maps per se, just a route that Scenic will plot on its own maps.)

Keep an eye out for Scenic v2.0, which should be out by the time you do your trip -- it's a major update that Guido has been working on for a long time, and it looks like it's going to make a number of big improvements to an already excellent app.

--mark
    ohgood likes this.
  3. 919nick

919nick Been here awhile

Oddometer:
  4. gzrglyde

Oddometer: