Scenic - iPhone & iPad App Alternative to Garmin Zumo and TomTom Rider

Discussion in 'Vendors' started by gve, Jul 18, 2016.

  1. gve

    gve Guido

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Oddometer:
    325
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Nice!!! Be aware of overheating during (sunny) day time though. If the iPad (or an iPhone for that matter) is behind a plastic cover without ventilation it can't get rid of its heat like normally. It rarely happens, but just in case.
    #81
  2. gve

    gve Guido

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Oddometer:
    325
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Yeah. Got a lot of questions on the In App Purchass. It was too complicated with all the alternatives (Credits / 'Pay as you Go', Premium, Ultimate, Ultimate Offline) so decided to simplify it. Now you've just got Credits and Premium. Premium access through a yearly subscription (now auto-renews) or a one time 'Forever' purchase.

    Users that already purchased it will keep it of course.
    #82
  3. valkraider

    valkraider Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Oddometer:
    84
    But it looks like the Premium doesn't include offline maps, is that right? Offline maps always require credits?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    #83
  4. gve

    gve Guido

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Oddometer:
    325
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Correct. Premium forever substitutes the normal Ultimate. Ultimate Offline no longer exist. Users just have to buy credits to get offline maps. For most users (unless you need A LOT of offline maps) price of premium forever + credits will be more or less the same as Ultimate Offline


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    #84
  5. jdubb75

    jdubb75 Vicarious Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,627
    Location:
    Deep South(ern) Indiana
    I tried to buy an $8.99 year subscription today and it fails. However, I was able to buy a package of 10 credits. It also looks like I can purchase a $49.99 forever subscription if I would like.

    Here is the message I get.

    IMG_4520.PNG
    #85
  6. jdubb75

    jdubb75 Vicarious Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,627
    Location:
    Deep South(ern) Indiana
    Sorry if I missed it somewhere in the thread, but is there a way to reverse directions once arrived at the destination?
    #86
  7. gve

    gve Guido

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Oddometer:
    325
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Just sent you an email on both your questions. Let me know if you have any other questions. (I usually respond fastest through email).
    Cheers, Guido
    #87
  8. DiabloADV

    DiabloADV Semi-Occasional

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,847
    Location:
    Nor Cal, USA
    If you load the maps offline...no issue with signal. I rode an 80 mile complicated backroad loop two weeks ago, with no cell signal available. Worked perfectly.

    Good thing too...I had no idea where I was. Had never been there before (lost coast area, NorCal)
    #88
  9. Gatornation

    Gatornation Ayatollah of Rock n Rolla

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Oddometer:
    133
    Location:
    Virginia
    When you upload a GPX file and it's says some of the route are unnamed trails, is it better to save standard or follow the line?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    #89
  10. gve

    gve Guido

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Oddometer:
    325
    Location:
    Netherlands
    What's the exact message you are getting?
    #90
  11. Gatornation

    Gatornation Ayatollah of Rock n Rolla

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Oddometer:
    133
    Location:
    Virginia
    I don't remember the exact wording but to the effect of "some of the route isn't available (trails). Voice navigation won't be available, would you like it to be saved as follow the line?"
    #91
  12. gve

    gve Guido

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Oddometer:
    325
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ok. I think you got the message that the route couldn't be calculated because some of the points are on unmapped (dirt) roads. In that case I recommend first to try and move the via points a bit to see if that changes anything. If not you can always save as 'offroad' (


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    #92
    Gatornation likes this.
  13. Gatornation

    Gatornation Ayatollah of Rock n Rolla

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Oddometer:
    133
    Location:
    Virginia
    Okay. Some of the "roads" were definitely trails. I was just wondering the best way to save it. Thanks


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    #93
  14. valkraider

    valkraider Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Oddometer:
    84
    You posted this after he released some bug fixes. Were you using the old version or the new version (and there was another update today to fix even more bugs).


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    #94
  15. 919nick

    919nick Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Oddometer:
    239
    Location:
    Reidsville, NC
    I just downloaded and tried this app today. When I got home I removed the mount for the Montana from the bike.
    This app worked great with a couple of exceptions. It crashed a couple of times. I was in a low signal area and I haven't downloaded any offline maps. Not sure if that was the cause. The second issue I had was every turn would shown a straight arrow until I got within a mile or two of the turn. It would then correct itself and show the turn.

    Overall though, this app is fantastic. Thanks, Guido! Hopefully the android version is coming so my riding buddy can use it.
    #95
  16. gve

    gve Guido

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Oddometer:
    325
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Thanks. Always nice to hear
    An update was released today with some bug fixes and stability improvements. The new version is 1.33. You can see the version number in settings, all the way at the bottom under reference. Were you running that version?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    #96
  17. 919nick

    919nick Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Oddometer:
    239
    Location:
    Reidsville, NC
    My current version is 1.32. I see the update available and I'll do it now.

    Is the monthly subscription still available? I'm getting an error when I select that option.

    Thanks your quick reply.
    #97
  18. gve

    gve Guido

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Oddometer:
    325
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Dropped the monthly. A few posts up I explain why.

    Also, there is a problem with the yearly subscription and the 25 credits purchase (you can't purchase them). Releasing another update to resolve this in the next few days.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    #98
    919nick likes this.
  19. valkraider

    valkraider Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Oddometer:
    84
    I downloaded the new version today (1.33 build 1) Then I went out for 4 hours of riding, using downloaded offline maps.

    App still crashed twice in the first hour. I stopped using it and switched back to my NAVIGON.

    Coincidentally, after I switched apps and let Scenic run in the background - it didn't crash anymore for the rest of the ride - and successfully tracked all of my remaining ride (even though I was in the middle of nowhere - on fire roads and forest service roads.

    Maybe it is something on the front end display?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    #99
  20. DiabloADV

    DiabloADV Semi-Occasional

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,847
    Location:
    Nor Cal, USA
    I loaded it around last week of September. Haven't updated it since then.