Seeking fellow bikers for a fall (september) trip in the alps.

Discussion in 'EMEA' started by sewalf, Jul 28, 2019.

1. sewalf

sewalf n00b

Oddometer:
    Hello everyone! I’m Sebastian, 30 years old, from Stockholm, Sweden. In september I am heading down to the alps for 2-3 weeks on my first longer solo bike trip.

I've already done Andermatt (Gotthard, Furka, Grimsel) by car some years ago so this time I headed for the Dolomites and Austria. Other than that I have no fixed plan. I'm camping and will probably stay a couple of days at different places to explore passes/places around the camping site.

I wanted to see if anyone is also riding in that area that time and wanted to link up or if someone wanted to join along the way. I’m open to suggestion for other areas in Europe as well for the trip if anyone else wants company.
    I am going to leave Stockholm between 1-3 of september.

I’ve been riding for 15 years but never done a longer trip with a fellow biker/bikers except family members.

Currently have a R1200GSA 2008 so I wouldn't be opposed for gravel/offroad.

Ride safe!

IMG_7276.PNG
  2. nickguzzi

nickguzzi Long timer

Oddometer:
    Hi, sounds like a good thing to do.
    Since I retired and could choose when I travelled, I avoided the high summer, so shoulder season rides are mostly what I now do. If nothing else, avoids the heat like we have been suffering over the last two summers.

After the autumn equinox, days shorten rapidly and riding time - unless you like night riding in the Alps - is shorter. Not really a problem for me, as I like to finish early and organise a restaurant.
    The other thing that may be inconvenient is that many of the multitude of campsites close after 15th September. Not all, but check your expected destinations.
    Often the large "international" ones are open. The crowds that use them in the summer are mostly gone and you are left with retirees like me, except they will be mostly in caravans and camper vans.