SENA 50 series.

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by SaAdvRider99, Nov 4, 2019.

  1. jspringator

    jspringator Long timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,404
    Location:
    Versailles, KY
    I think I figured out how to do it but I haven't tried it yet. They pair through the intercom, not phone 2. There are several utube videos on how to do it. I saved the video on my phone so I can watch it when the time comes.
  2. DaveCR

    DaveCR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    640
    Location:
    Costa Rica -
    I've seen tons of videos of 30k + Cardo but none from a 50s to Cardo - my friend has his Sena paired with his cel phone, we don't want to mess with that, that's why we thought there must be a way to use the ' phone #2'
  3. jspringator

    jspringator Long timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,404
    Location:
    Versailles, KY
    DaveCR likes this.
  4. DaveCR

    DaveCR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    640
    Location:
    Costa Rica -
  5. jspringator

    jspringator Long timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,404
    Location:
    Versailles, KY
    Here it is.

    DaveCR likes this.
  6. DaveCR

    DaveCR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    640
    Location:
    Costa Rica -
    Hi!
    Just to report back, it worked!
    I have a Freedom 4+ and it's the same process. I was able to connect to my friend's 50S. Connectivity was ok but we had to be close, otherwise it will drop. The only thing we couldn't figure out was how to re connect without doing the pairing all over again. I tried pressing the 'phone' button in my Cardo, once, twice, but didn't reconnect.
    Thanks!
  7. Krazyjohnny

    Krazyjohnny Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Oddometer:
    579
    Location:
    Springdale, AR
    I was doing the bluetooth connection. They go back tomorrow.
    dpike likes this.
  8. WindBlast

    WindBlast Jesus and Tequila

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,442
    Location:
    New Sweden
    It should reconnect automatically if it is the only available BT to connect to. If there is a choice of connections you will have to select it out of the list.
    DaveCR likes this.
  9. DaveCR

    DaveCR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    640
    Location:
    Costa Rica -
    So if my cel phone is mobile 1 it won’t connect to the Sena as I connected it as mobile 2?
  10. WindBlast

    WindBlast Jesus and Tequila

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,442
    Location:
    New Sweden
    IDK. try removing the phone pairing and making the Sena mobile 1 and see what happens. Report back.
  11. chudzikb

    chudzikb Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,438
    Our experience has been that mesh works great getting everyone connected quickly. However, it sucks the life out of the batteries in short order. If you charge at a lunch break on an all day ride, fine, but, otherwise, we have switched to standard intercoms for battery life. Batteries will last all day in standard intercom mode. Why is this so hard? And why oh why, are these not waterproof? As if it never rains when you are riding?
    Kmont likes this.
  12. brianpc

    brianpc Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,914
    Location:
    CA
    There are literally 8,429 Sena threads just on this equipment forum alone, so I'm sorry for this landing here, but I own a 50S so I figured I'd check w/ y'all first. Has anybody bought and tried these HD speakers reviewed on our very own Advrider (on the front page now!): https://advrider.com/sena-new-hd-speaker-upgrade-for-5s-10cevo-10c-pro-20s-20s-evo-30k-50s/

    Thinking of pulling the trigger on them, since the reviewer has the same issues I do - at freeway speeds / normal riding I have to keep the volume high.
  13. GrumpyOne

    GrumpyOne Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    479
    Location:
    No.VI, MI
    If you have a 50s, the mount that came with it already has the HD speakers.

    I have a 50s and a 30k on different helmets. The difference isn’t night and day, but I can tell a difference and HD speakers are an improvement.

    -jw

  14. brianpc

    brianpc Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,914
    Location:
    CA
    Thanks for specifying that - I was going to order a pair. The speakers box says they're for the 50S but I didn't realize they were included with the 50S standard. Good to know!
  15. Krazyjohnny

    Krazyjohnny Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Oddometer:
    579
    Location:
    Springdale, AR
    i am on my second set of the 50s paired units. I have had no luck with these units at all. We have had terrible static which increases with distance. They only seem to work on line of sight out to about 100 yds. Once connection is lost they are inconsistent on reconnecting, even manually. I have updated the firmware to 1.0.08. I have done multiple factory and fault resets on these units. Still they do not perform as advertised. I have finally found batteries for my old 20s models and will replace them and return the 50s models for the 2nd time. I also have the Pactalk Bold with JBL speakers that are in a box in the closet. Installed them on my helmet and my wife's and found quickly they would not connect to the friends who were running Senas. So they sit in a box in the closet.
  16. chudzikb

    chudzikb Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,438
    You can connect Cardo's to Senna, takes some patience and some luck, but, it can be done.
  17. jspringator

    jspringator Long timer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,404
    Location:
    Versailles, KY
    I've never done it this way, but I wonder if the easiest way of doing it might be through the phone app of each device. I tried to get the Sena to pair to my PTB once, but I didn't hold down the jog dial long enough.
  18. chudzikb

    chudzikb Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,438
    That is the way, connect the Senna using its phone connection, there are 2. Some good videos on utube on how it is done.
    DaveCR likes this.
  19. DaveCR

    DaveCR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    640
    Location:
    Costa Rica -
    Connecting a cardo and a Sena is a pain lol

    Cardo must be on intercom gateway and the Sena in phone pairing - I’ve found 2 issues:

    1. The connection this way is super weak and it disconnects several times
    2. Only the cardo can call the Sena

    I m moving to packtalk to use the mesh just need more friends to do the same
  20. John Smallberries

    John Smallberries Long timer Super Supporter Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,144
    Location:
    Northville, Michigan
    Just curious - why not simply use the Mesh? My riding crew has all upgraded to Mesh 2.0-capable Sena devices and have very few issues. Water resistance is still an open concern for the 50S. My solution was to commit to the 50R and just charge it with my helmet. This has proven to be no big deal. I'm not a frequent helmet-switcher anyway.