Soundbomb compact with EzCAN or canSMART ...

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by CoOlSlY, Feb 17, 2019.

  1. CoOlSlY

    CoOlSlY Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Oddometer:
    161
    Anybody have this setup? I see some threads with the Soundbomb mini or the Soundbomb split but none with the Soundbomb compact (?).

    I'm interested in the delay that occurs when pressing the button, is it noticeable?

    Also, if I disconnect the factory horn, does it throw a code on the TFT or just a code when retrieving it via the ODB port?
    #1
  2. flybigjet

    flybigjet Remove Before Flight Supporter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,106
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I've got a Denali Compact SoundBomb and Fiamm AM80S Mini-Blaster controlled by the Hex EzCan on my '15 GS.

    Works great, and is *terrifyingly* loud.

    Don't disconnect the stock horn-- just let it do its thing or you will get an error. It's more or less unnoticeable, so no worries there.

    No delay that I can tell on horn actuation.

    One thing of note-- there are two different brackets for the Compact-- depending on exactly when your bike was manufactured, it will determine which bracket you need. I think the split was midway through 2015?

    R.



    #2
  3. Bikerboy108

    Bikerboy108 Pat from Jersey

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Oddometer:
    4,343
    Location:
    Jersey "Land of the Lane Closure"
    Just hooked up the sound Bomb Mini, left the stock horn.. I put it thru the Denali CanSmart and have no idea why anyone to make a louder noise... Scary Loud and they both go off together ..
    #3
  4. Iron Rey

    Iron Rey Wingnut Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,263
    Location:
    Middle of I O Wah
    The other option, and it can be cheaper if you don't think you will be adding anything else that needs EZCan (a slick bit of kit though) Twisted Throttle has a good kit that uses the existing horn output to fire an independent solenoid, no CANBus issues.
    #4
  5. Bobo

    Bobo Are we there yet? Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Oddometer:
    375
    Location:
    Golden, CO
    I just hooked up my new SoundBomb to the CanSmart using the Denali bracket. I must have got a dud. Horn sounds like a loud groan. Hooked the horn directly to a battery with the same results. Bought it from Revzilla and I noticed that the box had been opened before - the flap was slightly torn. Argh! This one is going back.:dirtdog

    ETA:
    Doh! My bad. The + and - leads where reversed. All good now.
    #5
    todcp likes this.
  6. BlackbirdMoto

    BlackbirdMoto www.BlackbirdMoto.com

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Oddometer:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    If you hook up a second horn to a CANSwitch, you can choose to have it sound simultaneously, or choose a delay.
    Some people like the stock horn first then the secondary horn sound if the horn button is held for more than 1 second... or if the horn button is pressed 3 times in a row.
    This way you can use the stock, less offensive, horn when you dont want to be so loud but use the air horn for when you need to REALLY get noticed.
    #6
  7. CoOlSlY

    CoOlSlY Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Oddometer:
    161
    I hooked up the Denali Soundbomb Compact to the canSMART and there's a "noticeable" delay when pressing the first time the horn. At first, with a quick press of the horn, the Soundbomb Compact didn't even triggered but the stock one yes. The second time was ok but there's definitely a delay for those reading this thread.
    #7
  8. ICohen424

    ICohen424 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Oddometer:
    133
    Location:
    Panama & NJ
    I had the same problem when I had my Soundbomb connected to my EZcan and couldnt get past it. I since got a CANSwitch (different product), and it sounds immediately every time. Maybe it was an output issue or something... dunno.
    #8
  9. CoOlSlY

    CoOlSlY Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Oddometer:
    161
    CANSwitch or canSMART you're talking about?
    #9
  10. CoOlSlY

    CoOlSlY Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Oddometer:
    161
    Just made a search and found the CANSwitch, interesting. "Sad" to see the EZcan and canSMART having a delay...
    #10
  11. ICohen424

    ICohen424 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Oddometer:
    133
    Location:
    Panama & NJ
    CANSwitch. Site is www.BlackbirdMoto.com
    #11
    BlackbirdMoto likes this.
  12. ICohen424

    ICohen424 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Oddometer:
    133
    Location:
    Panama & NJ
    For me, the big benefit is 8 outputs and unlimited customizations. If you can think of the logic, this thing can do it.
    #12
    BlackbirdMoto likes this.
  13. CoOlSlY

    CoOlSlY Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Oddometer:
    161
    The downside, there's no possibility to lower the intensity for a 3 wire led from what I read, am I right?
    #13
  14. ICohen424

    ICohen424 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Oddometer:
    133
    Location:
    Panama & NJ
    No, you would choose the correct 2 of the 3 wires. 1 is the ground, the other is the alternate (not the constant power).
    If you choose the constant, it will still work but it may flicker from time to time depending on your bike and lights... but will still work.

    I use the dimming for night/day as well as for brights and I use flash to pass with the brights and the horn.
    #14
  15. flybigjet

    flybigjet Remove Before Flight Supporter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,106
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    One thing to maybe consider on the CanSwitch?

    Just perusing the owner's manual- it looks like you'll have to cut the end of the light plugs to connect bare wires to this?

    I may very well be wrong, but at on my HexCan, it was literally "plug and play" with the Denali lights.

    And fwiw, no horn delay for me with the SoundBomb and HexCan.

    R.
    #15
  16. ICohen424

    ICohen424 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Oddometer:
    133
    Location:
    Panama & NJ
    Yes, you have to cut the wires but on one of my bikes, I used a wire tap so I didn’t have to cut anything. My other bike I just cut it because the first one worked perfectly.
    #16
  17. BlackbirdMoto

    BlackbirdMoto www.BlackbirdMoto.com

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Oddometer:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    @CoOlSlY no, thats incorrect. CANSwitch is perfectly capable of dimming lights with 2 or 3 wires, or controlling power intensity of just about anything, including heated gear.
    #17
  18. CoOlSlY

    CoOlSlY Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Oddometer:
    161
    How does it manage it with a 3 wire light? You use two wires?

    I stand corrected, thank you
    #18
  19. BlackbirdMoto

    BlackbirdMoto www.BlackbirdMoto.com

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Oddometer:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Yes, you would just utilize 2 wires.
    No problem. Happy to help!
    #19
    ICohen424 likes this.
  20. CoOlSlY

    CoOlSlY Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Oddometer:
    161
    Hooked up the soundbomb with the Denali bracket on a 1250GS and it rubs pretty bad on the brake line... Side note, the D4 with the 1250GS makes the aux lights impossible to mount on the upside, it rubs on the fairing.

    Any ideas what to do with the Soundbomb to avoid it to rub on the brake line so much? (I'll post a pic)
    #20