Southern Norway

Discussion in 'EMEA' started by rajeshck, Jan 23, 2019.

Tags:
  1. rajeshck

rajeshck n00b

Oddometer:
    Hi Riders

I am from middile east and its my first time riding in Norway. I am planning to spend 7-10 riding days in southern norway, starting and finishing in Lyngdal ( -:( that's the place eaglerider available for rental). It would be great if someone can advise a beautiful itinerary in which i dont miss scenic routes and must do attractions in southern Norway. I am ok between 7 - 10 riding days and, though i dont know the roads, i can ride 400-500KM A day (i am getting an indian roadmaster). i will land in oslo in the end of May and ride days span from last week of may to first week of june. Please also advise the right gears for May/June norway weather.

Thanks in advance
  2. Don T

Don T Bike Addict

Oddometer:
    Hello,

Here is a suggestion to an itinerary:
    Lysebotn (great road down to the fjord)
    Preikestolen
    Geiranger - follow road 63 through the town, this way you will ride both trollstigen and Ørneveigen.
    The Atlantic Road - I don't find it to be something special, but many dream of riding it.
    Bodø - follow the old coastal road Fv17 to get there.
    Take the ferry across to Lofoten.
    Ride along Lofoten back to the main land and return to Lyngdal.

Here is a map showing what I mean - ignore the routing around Geiranger, it won't follow road 63, as it's closed this time of year (due to snow).

If you run out of time during the trip, you can always turn inland and take the fastest route south.

Bring riding gear that works in all kind of weather. It often rain a lot along the west coast of Norway, and this early in the season you may even encounter snow at altitude.

Note that the only highways in Norway is around and south of Oslo.
    I will recommend that you keep to the speed limits. Fines are high and as a foreigner you have to pay on the spot.

Cheers
    Tonny
    stokerel and rajeshck like this.