speed wobble

Discussion in 'Face Plant' started by speedtrials, Oct 10, 2019.

1. speedtrials

speedtrials Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hi Guys,
    I've enjoyed reading this section for long time and now (unfortunately) I have my own contribution.

Preface: I've been riding for 10 years and considered myself a 'safe' rider. I definitely don't consider myself an expert but certainly a few steps above a beginner. I don't push the speed on corners or anything. Just enjoy getting from A to B at a safe pace, and so I considered myself a safe and aware rider. I used to read the posts on this faceplant forum to try to learn from other peoples mistakes. I've done numerous trips, including big ones cross country, and felt very confident about it all. Early on I had a couple very minor accidents at low speed which definitely helped me from getting arrogant. But both of those I rode away from without a scratch on my skin.

Cut to: May of this year....driving across town and I decided to save a bit of time and take the highway. Just before my exit, on an elevated portion of the highway, on a turn, something happens and I have a speed wobble. I have about 1/2 a second to think about it before it oscillates me into a highside. I'm going about 100km/h (60 mph). Luckily its a Sunday morning so traffic is very light. I quickly get up and my adrenaline is jacked. Nothing seems broken. Some nice folks stop to see if I'm ok. They follow me as I ride off the highway to make sure (later they will drive me to the hospital). After the adrenaline wears off I realize a trip to the hospital is in order. I was NOT ATTGATT.....just jacket, helmet, leather gloves but not motorcycle gloves. Nylon pants and gloves are shredded. My Olympia textile jacket is pretty shredded but mostly did its job. At the one shoulder it wore right thru unfortunately so there's a good bit of rash on my shoulder. Helmet did its job.