Spring Fraser River Ride

Discussion in 'Canada' started by Dcoops, Mar 3, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Dcoops

Dcoops n00b

Oddometer:
    Hi everyone,

This is my first post on the forum. I’m an off road adventure cyclist (no motor), but I’ve been coming here for a few years to leech off the awesome wealth of information you all have about dirt routes. I was looking for some info on early spring routes in BC (early to mid May) that might be snow free enough for a bike to make it through in early to mid May and was hoping some of you here might be able to help me out.

My general impression so far is that the Fraser river is probably my best to find some nice miles of snow free dirt riding that time of year. I have a rough plan to start in Lilloett and take the Clinton-Pavillion road up to Kelly Lake and Jesmond Rd. From there my plan is to either follow Jesmond or go down High Bar rd to big bar and take the big bar road back up to Jesmond. Then I hope to continue up Jesmond and take Meadow lake road down to the river. From the river, I’m planning to either cross and head through gang ranch to the gaspard-churn creek or to follow dog creek rd all the way to Williams Lake.

My main concerns are snow, camping, and water. Does this sound like the type of route that would be passable in early May? Would I be able to find spots away from private property to camp along the way? And lastly, since I’m non-motorized, I cover a lot less distance than all of you in a day and was wondering if y’all know if there are generally creeks where I could fill up water in the area? Lastly, do any of you have any route advice about whether I should stay up on the plateau on Jesmond road or drop down to the river at high bar? Same goes for the gang ranch/gaspard route vs dog creek?

Thanks for reading my long-winded route idea and for any advice you can offer a fellow two wheeed traveler!
    shuswap1 and Steve G. like this.
  2. filterwrench

filterwrench Been here awhile

Oddometer: