Spring strut adjustment faulty.

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by tk1250gsa, Jul 13, 2019.

  1. tk1250gsa

    tk1250gsa Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    245
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    So I never had this problem. have 19 gsa on 7600mi.
    I was two up. passanger around 150lb. (this second time on two up) and after 20m this message show up.
    as soon as she get off it's gone and don't come back but bother me so much.
    anyone has same issue? should I go dealer even that sign is gone?

    Attached Files:

    #1
  2. ExodusRider

    ExodusRider ExodusRider

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,281
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Absolutely bring it out there next time you get a chance. Obviously not life / death..but that tells you your dynamic ESA is out of whack for whatever reason..
    #2
  3. tk1250gsa

    tk1250gsa Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    245
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #3
  4. ExodusRider

    ExodusRider ExodusRider

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,281
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    The error code should be saved into the ECU log so they will be able to pull it up and ser when it happened
    #4
  5. tk1250gsa

    tk1250gsa Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    245
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Thanks for advice as always man!
    I just so annoyed to go bmw Manhattan service.. ugh.. but no other option. Too far other nicer dealer.
    #5
  6. _Gir_

    _Gir_ Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Oddometer:
    92
    Location:
    US
    Some folks have mentioned that fully cycling the bike unweighted thru auto->low->high->back to auto has worked for them. Not for this fault code but unusual suspension behavior.
    #6
    tk1250gsa likes this.
  7. tentative_rider

    tentative_rider Wanna Be On Gravel

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Oddometer:
    993
    Location:
    New Braunfels TX
    I have had the same exact error code.

    2019 GSA.

    It happens randomly but seems like when the bike and suspension are hot.

    Always resets after I turn the bike off and back on again.

    Dealer could not find a reason for it. Apparently they don’t get worried about temporary codes or some crap like that but they could not find a cause.

    Now, they also said I needed the software updated and it may be related.

    I got the software fixed earlier in the week, but have not had time to do much riding because of work and my other “new” bike, A super low mile 2006 HP2 Enduro that I just got resurrected from the dead, it had been sitting for five years in some guys shop.

    Check and see if your bike needs the software updated. Apparently the older software throws too many error codes, it is too picky according to my technician.

    I will post back after riding some in the heat, I’m taking off on a 10 day trip at the end of this week. Fingers crossed.
    #7
  8. tk1250gsa

    tk1250gsa Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    245
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Thanks for info. Ah.. yea I’m going on tuesday and will tell them your story incase they don’t have idea.
    Thanks man!
    #8
    tentative_rider likes this.
  9. tk1250gsa

    tk1250gsa Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    245
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    So I came dealer and seems they are already known this issue. They said at least 2-3 gsa come a day for same issue. They are guessing cause of heat. They just recalibrate my shock and if it happened again need to redo software which I need to leave my bike over night. (They said took 3-4 hours). I think anyway it’ll come again and need to update.
    #9
  10. tentative_rider

    tentative_rider Wanna Be On Gravel

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Oddometer:
    993
    Location:
    New Braunfels TX
    I have mine back but haven't had time to put many miles on.

    Leaving for a week trip over the weekend, guaranteed its gonna be hot,

    ill post back if it recurs or not as I had the software update done.

    TR
    #10
  11. tentative_rider

    tentative_rider Wanna Be On Gravel

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Oddometer:
    993
    Location:
    New Braunfels TX
    Update-

    Had software update, and just got back from over 3000 mile trip in temps ranging from 80 to over 105.

    No error codes.

    It appears in my case software update cured the problem.

    TR
    #11
    lewisjr1 likes this.