Springtime In the Norwegian Mountains

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Day Trippin'' started by motomrider, Jun 4, 2020.

1. motomrider

motomrider Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Finally, time to pay it forward after all the hours spent reading others ride reports! There is definitely not a lack of interesting trips and awesome photographers on the ADV forum, but if you have gotten this far :D maybe I peeked your interest enough to check out my mediocre photography skills.

Springtime in Norway, and I just realized this as I'm still pretty new to motorcycle touring, has to be the best time of year for riding around Norway. That is if the weather is nice and it doesn't rain, of course!

The plan was to drive from Oslo to Loen, spend the night there, and then drive back the next day. Hopefully riding as many curvy roads and mountain passes as possible without riding too many of the same roads back. This time of year the mountain passes are starting to open and if the weather would hold we might get lucky. One of the bucket list roads was Tindevegen with 10 meter snow banks and hopefully dry pavement. Even though we haven't had too much snow around Oslo this season, the mountains have gotten plenty. Some mountain passes were still not open when we left and a couple were closed again due to meltwater flooding the roads after they were cleared.

As for the weather, we lucked out and the temperature gauge nearly maxed out at 28C (82F) with clear blue skies both days we were out riding. The temperature did drop to 7C (45F) over the mountain passes and there were plenty of tunnels up there as well, which were just as cold. But, when riding in larger groups you quickly learn to dress appropriately when time permits, especially when it’s not you who decides when you stop. :D
    It felt a bit strange wearing a down jacket on the warmest day so far this year, especially when everyone around us were wearing t-shirts and shorts.

The cast