Still Wandering in Indiana

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Day Trippin'' started by radianrider, Jul 30, 2017.

1. radianrider

radianrider Adventurer wanna'be

Oddometer:
    Well, I've been wandering Indiana for several years now and I documented my travels in my earlier thread "Wandering in Indiana." Photobucket has decided to hold all my images on its site until I pay $400 a year to be allowed to embed them, so I abandoned my thread and Photobucket.

Temps low enough I needed a fleece under my jacket and almost no humidity. Rare day in central Indiana in July. Not a cloud in the sky--no way I was staying home.

I decided to ride to Paris.

No, not that one, but Paris, IN. My first stop was in North Salem when I spotted this old gal for sale.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

My dad was a Rambler guy and so is one of my former students.

I was getting ready to turn right at stop and continue on west when I saw this place. I have a fondness for old buildings being reclaimed by nature, so I went straight to get a picture.
    [​IMG]

I had noticed three figures on the porch next to where I parked, but hadn't really paid attention them. I was a bit startled when a nice young woman came around the front of my bike (I was taking a picture and had my helmet on) and she asked what I was doing.

She hastened to assure me that she was just curious and said, "We were getting ready to wave to you when you suddenly went straight and stopped." The "we" turned out to Lydia, her son and her mother.

We had a nice conversation about riding, photography and our teaching careers. She is an interpreter for the deaf in Bloomington.

Half a block later.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Old barns dot the Indiana landscape and there are a lot of them that I can't get photos of due to road conditions (too much traffic, no shoulder, etc.) but I stop when I can. These two are west of IN-41 somewhere. My cell provider doesn't have much coverage in the western part of the state, so no GPS to call on.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]