Stop and go traffic

Discussion in 'The Perfect Line and Other Riding Myths' started by chtucker, Sep 5, 2018.

1. chtucker

chtucker Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I just got back into riding after 5 years off. Prior commute was 38 miles/38 minutes in Colorado.

I now live around Seattle and commute downtown.

1 hour today in stop and go traffic. {%^]!.>\£! My normal commute is 30 minutes. Had to take a different route today to pick bike up from service.

1200GSA is not stop/go/stop/go bumper to bumper traffic fun.

Does anyone ride daily in stop and go traffic?
  2. Andrew

Andrew Optimus Primer Super Moderator Super Supporter

Oddometer:
    Why not split lanes, and get through the congestion faster?
  3. Roads and Trails

Roads and Trails Just Ridin' Along

Oddometer:
    I live in Albuquerque and ride often along the front range of Colorado.
    in stop and go traffic I split lanes as I learned in Southern California and Mexico.
    I've been doing it for thirty five years, no tickets yet.
    I'll probably get busted tomorrow!
  4. chtucker

chtucker Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Its not legal here
    allowishish likes this.
  5. Andrew

Andrew Optimus Primer Super Moderator Super Supporter

Oddometer:
    That's not my point... as motorcyclists, we regularly weigh the costs and benefits of breaking the law when we ride. Lane-splitting is not illegal in California, while crossing the double yellow is. But I routinely pass on the double-yellow when it's safe to do so.
    Dano990, craigincali, texag10 and 3 others like this.
  6. lifeofliberty

lifeofliberty If you're bored, you're not living

Oddometer:
    Wow. Some of us don't do this. Yeah, we weigh the costs - and choose to obey the traffic laws, just like most everyone else. Generally speaking, no matter what I'm driving / riding. It speak volumes to the other drivers when you don't.
  7. Roads and Trails

Roads and Trails Just Ridin' Along

Oddometer: