Stupid Knobbie Question

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by Barry, Nov 2, 2004.

  1. Barry

    Barry Just Beastly

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Oddometer:
    10,574
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, Va.
    So, I ordered the Kendas for the 640. Do I have to balance them after I mount them? What say you all ???

    Nobody balances dirtbike tires. I've heard from guys that don't balance street knobbies too.

    Thanks,
    Barry
    #1
  2. Arch

    Arch Incurable Gearhead

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Oddometer:
    11,707
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    FWIW, I never bother to balance the MT21s on my Adv.
    #2
  3. Steelhead

    Steelhead It's all good

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Oddometer:
    430
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    Add 8 oz. of green Slime to each wheel and skip the balancing.
    #3
  4. Loadedagain

    Loadedagain making chips

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Oddometer:
    26,766
    Location:
    West Vancouver, BC
    have never balanced knobbies. like steelhead i like using slime, but that doesnt have anything to do with balance.
    #4
  5. RL Lemke

    RL Lemke Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Oddometer:
    2,443
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I agree. However I use 16 oz in back and a little less in front. The problem with Slime is that once it goes thru a freeze/thaw cycle it can corrode metal, including aluminum. I use the American Sealants product that will never corrode metal. It is a lot less expensive too.
    #5
  6. MookieBlaylock

    MookieBlaylock Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,585
    Location:
    IntheeaglewingpalaceoftheQueenChinee
    on my 950 , not too far from a 640, when the shop put TKCs on they put some weight on the spokes. It probably depends on how much black top you ride.
    #6
  7. creeper

    creeper Still alive...

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Oddometer:
    10,718
    Location:
    Puget Sound
    Unless your riding includes extended blasts doen the highway at 70-80 mph... balancing them is not that big a deal.... until you get that one tire that hops around like a paint mixer at any speed above 35 mph. It doesn't happen often, but it still happens.
    #7
  8. dirtrider

    dirtrider Dusty Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    3,366
    Location:
    Kalispell, Montana
    I balance mine. :nod
    #8
  9. creeper

    creeper Still alive...

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Oddometer:
    10,718
    Location:
    Puget Sound
    I do as well... but then I do ride at 70-80 on the freeway for extended periods of time. Current tires are Maxxis 6006s with 1oz. on the front and 1.75oz. on the rear. Surprisingly, the same exact weights were used on the OE Saharas, in almost the same location. :nod
    #9
  10. kurtw

    kurtw Child of the Wind

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Oddometer:
    215
    Location:
    Bend, OR USA
    Perhaps it's an pointless exercise, but I do balance mine. It just takes a few minutes with the axle on a pair of jack stands to get them more or less balanced. I was surprised to see how much weight the wheels had on them from the factory, but it didn't take much weight last tire change with the light spots on the tire properly aligned. :ear
    #10
  11. arroyoshark

    arroyoshark Needing some space

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Oddometer:
    2,134
    Location:
    Fin del Sendero, NM
    That's probably due to imbalance in the wheel/rim. Read somewhere where it is important to balance the rim before mounting the tire....on a road bike.
    #11
  12. creeper

    creeper Still alive...

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Oddometer:
    10,718
    Location:
    Puget Sound
    Not necessarily. I've mounted and balance literally thousands of tires, and I've found that tires of a "type"... size, style, usage whatever, will have similar imbalance factors. If you put them on in the same place, as per any "balance dots", they usually balance with similar weight in similar locations.
    This isn't chiseled in stone... but it is a common occurance.

    On occasion, I've checked the balance of wheel assemblies only, and unless they are out of true by more than .020" radial or lateral, they rarely indicate a need for weight by themselves.
    #12
  13. tbirdsp

    tbirdsp REMF

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,950
    Location:
    Nebraska
    I balance mine. Only takes a few minutes, why not?
    #13
  14. tbirdsp

    tbirdsp REMF

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,950
    Location:
    Nebraska
    I balance mine. Only takes a few minutes, whay not?
    #14
  15. daotoys1

    daotoys1 Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Oddometer:
    1,116
    There is no such thing as a stupid knobbie.....only questions.... :rofl :freaky :nod :lol3 :wink: :1drink :evil
    #15
  16. meat popsicle

    meat popsicle Ignostic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    14,730
    Location:
    Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
    you can say that again! oh...

    Who was it who did the tire changing.. Neduro!

    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50717

    maybe some of our "balancers" could add to neduro's thread how to balance your tire - maybe with just the axle stands for those of us w/out our own bike shop at home. :thumb
    #16
  17. Steelhead

    Steelhead It's all good

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Oddometer:
    430
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    You probably don't Slime your tubes then.
    What's the point of balancing a tire if you add 8 oz's of liquid in the tube?
    Tough to balance rotating liquid and the Slime is much more important IMO.
    Balance your tires if that works for you.
    I need the benefits of Slime and choose not to. :thumb
    #17
  18. meat popsicle

    meat popsicle Ignostic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    14,730
    Location:
    Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
    :lurk
    #18
  19. Steelhead

    Steelhead It's all good

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Oddometer:
    430
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    OK. I'm sorry Meat!
    Maybe I should say this is coming more from a dirt perspective OK?

    Balance your tires. You need to balance your dirt tires.
    It only takes a few minutes and you really should do it. :D
    #19
  20. kurtw

    kurtw Child of the Wind

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Oddometer:
    215
    Location:
    Bend, OR USA
    Paging Creeper? :deal

    Anyway, the process is described here (among others): http://www.clarity.net/~adam/tire-changing.html
    But unlike that guide, I only balance the final wheel+tire on the Adv.

    [​IMG]
    #20