SV650 sidecar - homebuilt leaner

Discussion in 'Hacks' started by Turbomachine, Jul 10, 2014.

1. Turbomachine

Turbomachine Stirring the noodle

Oddometer:
    I've been (mostly) lurking here on and off for a few years, reviewing hack builds and designs. My favorite thread on the whole internet is Hacks-n-Pups, and my lab/border collie Bogart loves to ride in or on anything. We hope to post pics there soon!

I've had a 2002 SV650 since around 2007. Its a fun, simple bike that does a lot of things well. I've only found one other reference to a hacked SV650 on the web, which looks to have used a Ural tub. The frame setup (cast aluminum, under-slung engine) isn't very conducive I guess.

So I've been tinkering with designs for the last few years on and off, and finally cleared some space in my home projects to get it done. I'm a mechanical engineer by day, but have relatively limited metal fabricating skills. The goal was to do as much of the work myself, and work the design around available purchase parts. I have access to a welder, but didn't want to do mission-critical welding while I'm learning so I'll have a friend do that work (he builds tube frame drag racers). I can do wood and fiberglass so I'll make the body myself.

Layout of the assembly:
    [​IMG]

The basic design is to use a subframe made from plate and bar stock bolted to the engine casing up front and a rear mount tab. The front end of the subframe has a clevis mounted up, the rear end has one down, to give the tip-in steering effect. Both are along the bike centerline.

[​IMG]