Tablets for GPS

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by trganey, Feb 19, 2015.

  1. griffo1962

    griffo1962 Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,897
    Location:
    Carrara, Qld, Australia
    no sign of a cradle for it yet....... hopefully available once the case is released.
  2. DRONE

    DRONE Dog Chauffeur

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,291
    Location:
    Chambers Bay, WA
    The RAM Locking Cradle will fit (link). One-minute vid below shows how it works. I'd skip the RAM backing plate and screw it directly into my Gadget Guy mounting plate.

    ohgood and webmonstro like this.
  3. uk_mouse

    uk_mouse Aquatic adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,882
    Location:
    UK
    A quick question for those using Locus ... can you get the app to store its maps on the device's SD card? I've downloaded the free version to play with but I can't download any maps as my phone doesn't have enough storage free. But I have a nearly empty SD card and I can't work out how to tell Locus to put the maps there.

    Thanks!
  4. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,285
    Location:
    alabama
    Settings >> Miscellaneous >> Default Directories >> Maps (or whatever maps is called in your version)

    Later versions of android (lollipop i think) don't allow apps to access each other's directories, or the sdcard, or something like that. It's weird, so when you see weird stuff happening you can know it's android lollipop that's making the directory permissions weird, not locus. Locus no care. ;-)
  5. EastRoad

    EastRoad Road Viking Supporter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,034
    Location:
    Switzerland
    This is a shortcoming of some android releases... that the app itself has "no write access" outside its own folder... they have done that so called "sandboxing" for security reasons... but it's pretty stupid.

    Now as ohgood mentioned there are the settings.

    but sometimes you have to use a good filemanger to MOVE the content to the SD Card...
    there's a ton of instructions on this on the internet, youtube and co...

    it's something that apple has essentially done for ages (and one thing I keep blaming them to be FAR TOO restrictive about): sandboxing the app's storage...
    it's stupid.
    they should (android 4+ too) at least allow a setting in the master settings to switch those restrictions off without either having to root (android) or jailbreak (apple) the thing.
    but as always there are workarounds for most.
  6. EastRoad

    EastRoad Road Viking Supporter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,034
    Location:
    Switzerland
    In all fairness, who would want a 9" tablet plus a MASSIVE looking RAM Cradle on their bike???
    I can see this on a quad or a car... but a bike?

    I mean if I wanted to watch a movie on the road I might as well add a VR Headset to my helmet's visor...
    but to read a map... ???
  7. uk_mouse

    uk_mouse Aquatic adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,882
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks I sorted it out. The thing to do seems to be to change Locus' 'root directory' setting to the SD card before downloading any maps, then you don't have to worry about moving the files by hand.
  8. Dolly Sod

    Dolly Sod I want to do right, but not right now

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Oddometer:
    18,865
    Location:
    Richmond, Va
    All versions of Android since Ginger Bread allow apps to store data on the SD card. Kitkat was a little restrictive in that the app had only 1 folder on the SD card which it could store data in, but all apps had a folder on the SD card. In Kit Kat apps Could not modify data in another apps SD card folder though. They moved away from that limitation with Lolly Pop, and are supposed to be making the SD card and the internal memory one big combined drive with Marshmallow.
  9. EastRoad

    EastRoad Road Viking Supporter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,034
    Location:
    Switzerland
    good to know, I have unfortunately never head the pleasure of using lollipop or marshmallow.
    my last android device was notoriously stuck on kitkat's latest iteration, despite lollipop supposedly becoming available on it for ages.
    (that is one of the things that I dislike about android devices,... that they often take forever - if at all - to receive the newer versions, aside from minor bug fix updates (same base version).
    as far as I know, the only hardware that gets full updates as they come is the google nexus series... and all the rest, from samsung, sony, htc, etc, they essentially depend largely on the manufacturer to supply them with newer versions... and of course neither has the priorities set on updating older devices, which is a shame.
    it's one thing that drove me away from android smartphones...
    rustytigwire likes this.
  10. Dolly Sod

    Dolly Sod I want to do right, but not right now

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Oddometer:
    18,865
    Location:
    Richmond, Va
    The update cycle is one of the reasons I keep buying premium Android phones. At least then your are pretty much garunteed to get one or two os upgrades. I believe my Samsung S4 has had 3 updates. Started on Ice cream sandwich, then jelly bean almost immediately, then KitKat and now it's on Lollipop. It also still works very well as a gps device.
    BikerBobber likes this.
  11. EastRoad

    EastRoad Road Viking Supporter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,034
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I partially agree with you - but the point is simply that sometimes it's "odd"... it can be rather unpredictable.
    My old S5mini (now dead) never made the jump to Lollipop, despite it being available apparently in other countries.
    Same game for the old Note 2 I used to have long ago.
    at least with the iPhone... apple has a solid track record of updating even the quite outdated models.
    After my S5mini decided to have it's second play at being a Dodo, I switched back to my iPhone 5 (that needed a new battery)... replaced the battery cheaply as it was out of warranty anyhow. and it has been running fine ever since and getting updates to the latest software the same day the stuff is being released.
    mind you that thing is from 2012. And whilst iOs does have its issues and I am not a fan and certainly no supporter of apples utterly insane sandboxing of apps... the platform is amazingly well supported.
  12. Dolly Sod

    Dolly Sod I want to do right, but not right now

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Oddometer:
    18,865
    Location:
    Richmond, Va

    There is no budget iphone. Your S5 Mini was a budget phone. Every iphone was top of the line when it was new. The same can not be said for all Android phones.

    Your iphone 5 is equivalent to my Samsung S4. My S4 is still running well, and is on the most readily available OS. (but it will surely never see Marshmallow, though there are rumors that it might) I only upgraded from it a few months ago in November. I still use it as a GPS for my motorcycle, car and bicycle.
  13. EastRoad

    EastRoad Road Viking Supporter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,034
    Location:
    Switzerland
    you might be on to something here ;)

    I bought my iphone cheap, maybe this is why I never really regarded this aspect compared to a S5mini... or so.
  14. BikerBobber

    BikerBobber Trying to get lost

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,306
    Location:
    Seeleys Bay, Ontario
    I'll take the openness of Android, with the ability to upgrade my memory and replace my battery, over the lock down of Apple any day!
    I believe my galaxy S5 is far superior, for my use, to any Apple phone. Waterproof from the factory with the tougher Gorilla Glass screen.
    And I find the OS updates are VERY regular.

    Bob

    Sent from my mobile
  15. Albie

    Albie Kool Aid poisoner

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Oddometer:
    15,377
    Location:
    NWA
    Hope that happens, that would make it so much simpler.
  16. Albie

    Albie Kool Aid poisoner

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Oddometer:
    15,377
    Location:
    NWA
    My old S5 was on KitKKat when I got it, and I never got the LolliPop upgrade. I think because I never had a sim car in it so ATT didn't push the update through. My new S5 came with Lollipop and I have a feeling that when Marshmallow comes out I probably won't get the update. But if it offers the seamless memory option, I'll go ahead and root it and update it myself.
  17. EastRoad

    EastRoad Road Viking Supporter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,034
    Location:
    Switzerland
    And according to some tech news I read, Samsung's Latest S7 implements the latest Android (6, marshmallow) and has decided to hamper that functionality...
    No APPS can be copied (at least officially) to the SD Card - DATA Yes, Apps No.
    Why? Samsung is concerned for security reasons... if a vital app would be on the microSD Card and the card would get pulled out (it sits in the same tray as the sim card now) the phone could run into some "serious issues".... laughable.

    Unfortunately there seems to be hardly any premium headset - aside from Googles own nexus 6p (that doesn't have an microSD slot) that runs stock android.
    Why do all of the others (Samsung, Sony, etc) feel the need to introduce their own (usually inferior) "flavour" of android... it is beyond me.
    Stock android is pretty much excellent.
  18. Albie

    Albie Kool Aid poisoner

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Oddometer:
    15,377
    Location:
    NWA
    I was a bit shocked when the S6 came out. No removable battery, and no SD card slot. What the hell is Samsung doing? All the more reason to just root the damn S5.
  19. EastRoad

    EastRoad Road Viking Supporter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,034
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I think they decided to "iPhone" the "experience"...

    gladly though the just announced S7 has again an microSD Slot (albeit with certain software limitations as it seems).
    Also, it still has a fixed battery (non-removable)... I simply fail to see the virtue for the owner in this... I mean, ok, you can (as with the iPhone) usually replace the battery, usually voiding the warranty though and fiddling with microscopic screws and crap. stupid.
    at least it's again IP68 rated...
    But priced right in the top-bracket.


    I think it's the same crap with google's Nexus 6P and many others... why leave the microSD Card out... I don't want to "cloud store" everything...
    I want microSD Cards... especially since 128GB don't cost a fortune anymore.

    I think with some makers it's an attempt to get the users to buy the top-storage model that usually costs a lot more than it has any right to do.
    (iphone for example... get the 128GB model and you're forced to sell that one good kidney - hey read the fine print ;) - buy the "cheaper" (more affordable) 16GB model and you shall regret it within a fortnight).
    Of course if the damn iPhone would offer a microSD slot... most people would probably go for the 16GB "base" model... and get 128GB in a cheap microSD instead.
    but of course apple & co. have no interest in this.

    and then they push the cloud stuff onto you as a "feature"...
    sometimes it feels like "the cloud" is the holy grail of stupidity.
    Sne and Albie like this.
  20. Dolly Sod

    Dolly Sod I want to do right, but not right now

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Oddometer:
    18,865
    Location:
    Richmond, Va
    If your new phone is still on AT&T, you can do what I did with my S4 Active. The S4 Active was on Kitkat when I got it used off ebay, it is an AT&T phone so I went in to an AT&T store and setup 1 month of their Pre-paid "Go Phone" service. They popped a SIM card in, and later that day I got the OTA update of Lollipop.