TAT 2020 by a new ADVer

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by mallen416, Sep 5, 2020.

1. mallen416

mallen416 Adventurer Supporter

Oddometer:
    *I'm currently 18 days into the trip, My goal is to catch up with my ride report before I finish. The first post is just background and gear, the actual ride report starts in post 2.

BACKGROUND:

I started riding on the street when I graduated high school about 2 years ago and have never even sat on a dirt bike or dual sport until 2 months before this trip. After riding street for about a year and a half I thought playing in the dirt would be pretty fun so I started looking at dual sports. I didn't want to have to deal with the maintenance of a dirt bike, I'm a huge fan of fuel injection, and also wanted to be able to ride from my house to the trails as I don't have a truck to haul the bike. Looking at these criteria it came down to either the WR250R, CRF250L, or the KLX250. Being a Yamaha fan and finding the best deal on it I ended up picking up a 2008 WR250R with only 3,000 miles on it. This led me to WR250R forms where I found mention of something called the TAT.

After some research and finding out what the TAT was I thought that someday I would like to do that on my bike, never thought it would happen soon. Fast forward a couple of weeks and thanks to Covid I have the chance to take the time off to do this trip, I figure it's now or never. The next couple of weeks were spent only working part-time, getting the bike adventure ready (it was bone stock when I bought it), and doing research. I did the Washington BDR as a test run at the end of July. Took a couple tumbles due to inexperience, but the BDR otherwise went well.