1. eNewsletter Sign Up

TAT to Alaska to TCAT

Discussion in 'Americas' started by rudy4pl, May 18, 2019.

1. rudy4pl

rudy4pl Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I feel like it’s finally time to make this post. I don’t usually like to plan much or spoil the routes to myself, but I do like to be prepared well for what can be thrown at me and have a decent overall picture. So the reason for this post is to prepare somewhat well and brainstorm a couple of ideas and places along the way.

The starting plan is to either quit my job or possibly get an extend leave of absence (don’t really care which as I can find an entry level job that pays reasonably well (to my standards and lifestyle at least) without any issues when I’m back) and leave at the start of July. Full TAT from NYC, going north to Alaska and finally taking the TCAT back home, about 3 months +/- is what I’m going for.

I have been riding for about 5 years and on my last trip around the states that took place 1.5 years ago, I didn’t do much off-roading. When I did, I really enjoyed the remoteness and ruggedness of it, so that will be what I’m going for on this voyage. Mostly free camping (freecampsites.net will be used extensively), some campgrounds and I’m guessing I’ll throw in the comforts of the cheapest lodging I can find from time to time to freshen up (or to cut out hotels, maybe purchase a membership to a large gym chain where I can shower, or that’s too much of a hassle?)

So now about the detours. I really want to hit:

- Grand Teton National Park

- Yellowstone

- Colorado 740, junction of 135 and 740 (not sure what’s out there but I wrote it down a while back)

- Boneville saltflats

- Moab slick rock

- Canyonlands

- Horseshoe bend

- highway 33 to carrizo plains (not sure if worth)

- Maybe Grand Canyon again ( I did hit it last trip)

Any other cool detours to take along my planned route, especially in Canada and Alaska?

Also, is there any TAT-esque connection between end of TAT and Alaska?