TFT retrofit

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by Gone Troppo, Mar 21, 2018.

  1. Max72

    Max72 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Italia
    I have not yet hooked the ftf to the bike because I am missing pieces to perform the blocking. As soon as they arrive and as soon as I have a hole I will try. I hope to be able to code it .... if by chance the CAFD coding data are missing, it means that the tft will not even appear in the control unit shaft (SVT).
  2. Tremblay

    Tremblay Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Oddometer:
    620
    Location:
    Western WA
    No idea. Hard to find folks to talk this over with. Harder to find folks to talk with that have actual access.
  3. Max72

    Max72 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Italia
    Anyone have access to tft in esys?
    if someone has access to the bike with esys please share SVT tree with bootloader patch version (BTLD), encoding data (CAFD), hardware version (HWAP and HWEL) and software version (SWFL). The i-step version would also be appreciated.
    Thank you very much!
  4. skew

    skew Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Oddometer:
    68
    Location:
    Eastern Ky
    I'll try and get you all this info this evening if I can retrieve it from mine.
  5. Max72

    Max72 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Italia
    thank you!
  6. The_Eccentric

    The_Eccentric Gearhead. Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Oddometer:
    249
    Location:
    Northern CA. Soon to be WY. Hope WY NEVER changes!
    Max72 gets my vote for "GSpot Rookie of the Year". :beer:freaky
    Carlos M and turnerm like this.
  7. Max72

    Max72 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Italia
    I want to publicly thank the user @skew who shared svt of his bike with tft. I started taking a quick look this morning. From what I could see the tft in esys is shown in svt as X_kombi3. As for the CAFD encoding files of the bike in question, they are easily present in the psdzdata folder I have on my PC. On the contrary the BTLD, SWFL and FLSL (map data) I find them easily in my psdzdata but they are more recent than those of the skew bike. I think this is due to the i-step version (software version) present in his bike (K001-18-03-501), while my psdzdata in pc are version (K001-19-03-502) therefore more recent. What I can't understand is because in the folder of my psdzdata the oldest files are not present, usually they are left there, but it is not a rule, sometimes they are eliminated by the psdzdata so as not to excessively burden the physical dimension of the files package. In summary, for the moment I do not see any problem that esys should have ... but the fact remains that the doubt remains. The only way to find out will be to do practical work. By the way ... I started producing the plug play cable, here are some screenshots:

    IMG_9410.jpg

    IMG_9411.jpg

    IMG_9412.jpg

    IMG_9413.jpg

    IMG_9417.jpg

    IMG_9418.jpg

    the 12-pin connector fits perfectly with its water-tight seal on the tft.
    I hope that everything is to your liking and interest
  8. AussieRider123

    AussieRider123 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    75
    Location:
    Sydney
    Do you know what the smaller plug is for? Might just be the backlight for the display
  9. Tremblay

    Tremblay Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Oddometer:
    620
    Location:
    Western WA
    It could be power for that, but what’s weird is it looks like a 3pin connector. The TFT unit has a built in light sensor iirc, so I’d expect that to be used to control dynamic brightness.
  10. Max72

    Max72 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Italia
    The small connector is 6 pin.... there is no trace in wiring diagram.
    Someone can confirm that is connected to tft or not ?
  11. skew

    skew Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Oddometer:
    68
    Location:
    Eastern Ky
    From what i can see on mine there is only a 12pin plug and no other harness
  12. yaycep

    yaycep Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Oddometer:
    426
    Location:
    Freiburg, Germany
    Not quite likely considering BMW, but could it be Jtag interface?
  13. Tremblay

    Tremblay Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Oddometer:
    620
    Location:
    Western WA
    I think Bosch makes the unit for BMW. That said it would be really weird to have an external JTAG header on this.
  14. Max72

    Max72 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Italia
    hello guys, here are some progress made with the gentle files shared by skew. I loaded his FA and his SVT-IST into esys and I clearly get x_kombi3 in the SVT tree:

    IMG_9433.jpg

    considering that the skew bike is updated to i_step 18_03_501 while in the PC I'm using, full psdzdata installed is with i-step 18_07_520. I calculated the SVT-soll and I clearly got the differences that esys calculated based on the most recent skew’s i-step and i-step installed in my pc. As you can see, after SVT-soll is calculated ,the bootloader (BTLD), the encoding data (CAFD), the map version data (FLSL) and the software (SWFL) will be flashed in the different release patches.

    Blue = actual state
    Red = target state (after flashing)

    IMG_9437.jpg

    below you can see from the psdzdata folders that all files are available.


    This for BTLD
    IMG_9435.jpg

    THis for CAFD
    IMG_9438.jpg

    This for FLSL
    IMG_9439.jpg

    This for various SWFL
    IMG_9440.jpg

    Everything you need is safely present in the psdzdata and as proof here in the esys tal-processing window it is clearly visible that esys will start the tft flash as all the software is available
    You can clearly see that in the column of x_kombi3 is flagged

    BTLD(blFlash=flashbootloader)

    SWFL(swDeploy = flash software),

    CAFD(cdDeploy = cafd encoding),

    FLSL(ibaDeploy = maps update)
  15. Max72

    Max72 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Italia
    Here you go

    IMG_9442.jpg
    AussieRider123 likes this.
  16. AussieRider123

    AussieRider123 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    75
    Location:
    Sydney
    I was just about to post that your VIN was visible :) Looking forward to your next update!
  17. Max72

    Max72 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Italia
    sorry ! you are right . corrected !
  18. Max72

    Max72 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Italia
    hi guys, other good news ... I opened TransAction Line in the TAL editor, the good news is that x_kombi3 has no dependency / prerequisite. This means that no flashing unit must be requested before x_kombi3. In piche words it can be flashed by itself and directly. You can see in the 8 transaction lines.

    IMG_9443.jpg

    IMG_9444.jpg

    IMG_9445.jpg
    AussieRider123 and deadflagblues like this.
  19. Max72

    Max72 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Italia
    Hi guys, here I am. Some progress between last night and today

    last night i built the bypass cable and i finally managed to find wiring error in ista-d . Do you remember that two pins 1 were marked in the analog cluster connector wiring ? Well .... pin1 as I imagined is power supply while the WL_S signal which is pin1 in the diagram is actually pin5. After finding this error (it is not the only one ... since I retrofit I will have at least found over a dozen in the wiring diagram) finally i have completed bypass cable.

    Needed light modify at female connector 8pins.

    IMG_9466.jpg

    IMG_9467.jpg

    Connector 8pins male analog cluster.
    IMG_9447.jpg

    IMG_9454.jpg

    After light modify on 8pins female adapter (shaved) male and female plug perfectly.
    IMG_9450.jpg


    Today i plugged tft ..... i have only encoded it with FA corrected for tft.
    Here is the result.
    All is working perfectly execpt :

    -ESA (i need to search because not working correctly, it would be interesting to see a video of how TFT works when setting ESA)

    - Phone (probaly i do not connected to bmw helmet interphono ...i do not have it)

    - Media (probaly i do not connected to bmw helmet interphono ...i do not have it)

    Some screenshot

    IMG_9471.jpg

    IMG_9473.jpg

    IMG_9474.jpg

    IMG_9478.jpg

    After connected my phone with bluetooth and dowload map from motorrad connected app also navigation is working

    IMG_9470.jpg

    Stay tuned ! Give me some time and ESA will be fully working.

    @skew can you provide me in pm your ncd cafd’s files? Thank you in advance.
    Racegun, Carlos M, toowoomba and 6 others like this.
  20. AussieRider123

    AussieRider123 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    75
    Location:
    Sydney
    Best forum thread I've seen in a long time! I wonder if the dash is encoded for Dynamic ESA which your bike won't have.

    Did you work out what the smaller plug was for on the dash?
    Racegun and Carlos M like this.