The Africa Twin CRF1000L Owners' Thread

Discussion in 'Japanese polycylindered adventure bikes' started by erey, Dec 20, 2015.

  1. Smittyrunner

    Smittyrunner Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Oddometer:
    216
    Location:
    Orange county ca
    I'm glad im not the only one. I tend to just upshift it up ounce I notice it happening.
  2. cblais19

    cblais19 Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Oddometer:
    4,100
    Location:
    NoVA
    In S3, it’ll hang out in gears 2-4 if I give it a fair bit of throttle sometimes. A tap to the upshift fixes it - I think the programming sometimes assumes you’re wanting it to hang out for more aggressive acceleration.
    Olde Phart likes this.
  3. Smittyrunner

    Smittyrunner Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Oddometer:
    216
    Location:
    Orange county ca

    It mostly does it to me in D. Almost never in S1. Those are the two modes I tend to switch between. But as you said a quick upshot tap and your good to go.
  4. Olde Phart

    Olde Phart Olde Phart

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Oddometer:
    642
    Location:
    Land of Oro y Plata
    Yeah, that too ... but being a washed up Mechanical Engineer and Software Engineer I like to try and figure out the algorithms that systems employ. What I've been able to discern so far, that hang in gear occurs when there has been an increase in throttle demand while in that gear so it "waits" on upshift in case more power is needed rather than upshifting.

    Try this yourself, as it shifts into 2nd or 3rd, bump the throttle momentarily and then return to the previous position before it has a chance to shift. I get the "hang" about every time I do this. It is a bit annoying but I've gotten pretty quick on the trigger finger when I just don't want to put up with it being the impatient type myself.

    Good knowing what you want when you want it to ya!
    DCTFAN likes this.
  5. cblais19

    cblais19 Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Oddometer:
    4,100
    Location:
    NoVA
    Sorry, what is this “D” you speak of?

    :p
    Smittyrunner likes this.
  6. Smittyrunner

    Smittyrunner Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Oddometer:
    216
    Location:
    Orange county ca

    It's the thing i use when I'm trying to extend my mileage. S1 doesn't get me anything near 150 miles to a tank..
  7. swimmer

    swimmer armchair asshole

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Oddometer:
    18,000
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    [​IMG]
  8. NSFW

    NSFW basecamp4adv Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Oddometer:
    25,702
    Location:
    Burbank CA
    thanks for the replies.

    brake pads are back in place and the rear wheel is turning smoothly.
    motocopter likes this.
  9. MarkH67

    MarkH67 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Oddometer:
    588
    Location:
    New Zealand
    It stands for "Don't use" - and I never do.
    I start the bike and then double tap the button to put it in S1 where it stays unless I get to some fun twisties and feel like some S3 fun. I don't need to be in 6th gear at 50kph so D is totally pointless IMO.
    1litre and windowto like this.
  10. Capt CF

    Capt CF Pontificating Nobody

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,295
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    That's the "stuck in traffic" button.
  11. Dudley

    Dudley Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,068
    Location:
    Chaska, Minnesota, Palm Desert, California
    Has any one installed an after market LOUD horn? If so, what brand and where did you mount it?

    How about driving lamps.

    Dudley
  12. William Wolfen

    William Wolfen Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,343
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    I have a $20 high tone horn from Advance auto parts on mine. Also Baja Designs S2 Sport lights mounted on my SW Motech crash bars. The lights are wired with a Skene dimmer and setup for 20% brighness with the low beam and full power when switched to high beam. I don't ride at night much, so I can't speak too well to running them on high, but they do great for conspicuity during the day with the low beam. I've had fewer people pull out in front of me since I added them.
    Dudley likes this.
  13. NSFW

    NSFW basecamp4adv Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Oddometer:
    25,702
    Location:
    Burbank CA
    Fiamm Freeway Blaster, direct bolt on. loud enough for my need.
    IMG_8468.JPG
    windowto likes this.
  14. Capt CF

    Capt CF Pontificating Nobody

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,295
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Denali Soundbomb Compact. I used the Denali mount in the stock location.
    Dudley likes this.
  15. katit

    katit Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Oddometer:
    188
    Location:
    Saint Louis, Missouri
    Do you have pics installed? What mount?
  16. CopyCat

    CopyCat I am NOT like the others Supporter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Oddometer:
    805
    Location:
    behind the cheddar curtain
    You all know everything about these ATs and I'm brand new with a 2019 L. I read that the ATAS has taller bars than the L. My bars need to come up an inch. Why couldn't I get a set of ATAS bars and the ATAS front brake line. It would have to be longer, yes? I know they are different part numbers
  17. N0madic

    N0madic Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2019
    Oddometer:
    114
    Location:
    Appalachians
    Are the handlebars that different or is it the bar mounts/risers or a combination of both for the additional height?

    You'd probably just need the ATAS brake line from master cylinder to ABS junction.
  18. Black99S

    Black99S Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Oddometer:
    446
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I installed the SoundBomb Mini when OEM horn died. Not much louder than stock. FIAMs at CDN Tire would have been cheaper. Same specs.
  19. CopyCat

    CopyCat I am NOT like the others Supporter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Oddometer:
    805
    Location:
    behind the cheddar curtain
    Hmmm, I dont know about the bar or riser.. Cycle world says the bars are 1.3" higher, screen 80mm higher, and seat taller and flatter. The seat statement is accurate as I switched to a 2018 ATAS seat and it is all those things. More research indicated. UPDATE: The part # difference is in the risers. Better news as they are 1/2 the price of bars. Thank you for the tip

    It seems the part #s are the same for the lower hose and different for upper. The upper hose is probably the longer one.
    N0madic likes this.
  20. Capt CF

    Capt CF Pontificating Nobody

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,295
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    I used the Denali mount (kind of expensive for a bent piece of stock, but it fits..). I can take some pics if you want, but there are also some pics up at several places online. Here's one set - https://twistedthrottle.com/shop/el...-bracket-honda-crf1000l-africa-twin-16-rev02/
    The only issue is that it sits a bit close to the inside of the crashbar (mine are swmotech) so in a major off I could see the horn getting broken or the bracket bent (or worst case the mounting holes it uses in the case cover getting buggered and requiring chasing with a tap or a helicoil/timesert). That said, I did lowside it on pavement on that side (left) and it came out without a scratch (the horn anyway..).

    I've never tried the mini, but have the compact on the AT and a split on another bike and they are both pretty damn loud.