The Albatross: 1150GS Sidecar Build

Discussion in 'Hacks' started by PowderMonkey, Jun 2, 2018.

1. PowderMonkey

PowderMonkey Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Ladies and Gentlemen, may I have your collective 3 wheeled, hack slingin’, adventure riding attention, please?!?!

This is the start of the build thread for my 2002 1150GS/Ural hack.

Who: I’m a vintage motorcycle fanatic that built a Ural/BMW R100 powered hack for the dog about four years back.
    http://www.sovietsteeds.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=36141
    I’m an amateur bike builder that has access to friends whom have professional grade fabrication, welding, machining, and painting skills. I live a blissful existence in their fold. I’ve owned the following bikes a CB360, CB450, several CB750’s, several XS650’s and an R100GS (I still own this). To finance my motorcycle addiction, I work at sea for half the year, so forgive time gaps between posts.

What: 2002 1150GS, in white. After riding through all seasons in Portland, ME, I’ve decided to move into the (more) modern age of hex head sorcery. I purchased this bike from the second owner, very recently, with less than 10K miles on it . This is the nicest motorcycle I have ever owned. I had entertained the idea of hacking a Triumph Tiger 800, but the availability of off the shelf bits and bobs to put the GS rig together appealed to me.

The Robin to my GS is a mish-mash of Ural pieces; a 2016 tub and a 2010 frame. Both, frame and tub suffered from improperly applied coatings at their inception in Mother Russia (looks as if paint was put on after the surface rust coat had been applied). Once in my possession, these items were blasted, and then self etched, and are now awaiting a frankenstein-ian beginning. I have also boarded a couple of Russian hack swingarms over my years of pseudo-Ural ownership, that may or may not be used.