The CRF1000L Africa Twin problem thread

Discussion in 'Japanese polycylindered adventure bikes' started by twinrider, Mar 18, 2016.

  1. William Wolfen

    William Wolfen Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,686
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    I'm still just glad you made it home! Good to hear it's fixed.
    WacoDirtryder likes this.
  2. ROYMACNIC

    ROYMACNIC Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Oddometer:
    130
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi Swimmer, surging, cutting out and poor low speed running, high fuel consumption are the symptoms, air filters changed injectors cleaned.
  3. ROYMACNIC

    ROYMACNIC Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Oddometer:
    130
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi Smittyrunner , yeah surging , cutting out, high fuel consumption, just general bad running.
  4. RBMann

    RBMann Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    300
    Location:
    North of Seattle
    Just noisy. Mine had more black stuff than the above photo but without the chunks.
  5. ROYMACNIC

    ROYMACNIC Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Oddometer:
    130
    Location:
    Scotland
    Happy to say that the problem on my bike has been found, i have a Scottoiler chain oiling system fitted and the connector that takes the vacuum feed had split, so it was drawing air in from that , just a silly wee thing that caused big problems!
  6. MarkH67

    MarkH67 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Oddometer:
    609
    Location:
    New Zealand
    That's why after having a Scott Oiler on my previous bike I decided to go with a Tutoro oiler on my Africa Twin - no electrical connection and no vacuum connection required, but still automatically oiling my chain.
    frog13, ROYMACNIC and blrfjr like this.
  7. William Wolfen

    William Wolfen Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,686
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    So if it's not electrically or vacuum operated, how does it know to stop the oil flow when the bike is off? Or does it just drip oil onto the garage floor?
  8. Black99S

    Black99S Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Oddometer:
    499
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Look it up. Mechanical weight. When you move it moves. When you stop it stops. The flow.
  9. MarkH67

    MarkH67 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Oddometer:
    609
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Exactly, no drips on my garage floor. I bought this system because it is so cleverly simple for a fully automatic system. I just have to top up the reservoir every 1,000km or so.
    frog13 likes this.
  10. Anjin455

    Anjin455 Riding on the company dime

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Oddometer:
    113
    Location:
    Freedom Land
    I've been looking into an oiler kit for the chain, been seriously considering the Tutoro.
  11. docgonzo

    docgonzo Old Gadfly

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Oddometer:
    21,299
    Location:
    within 20 miles of the Center of the Universe
    My 2016 DCT got stuck in 2nd gear today. Turned off the bike, and the dreaded "-" came on instead of neutral, and it wouldn't start. Jiggled all the switches and nothing. Waited 10 minutes till the bike cooled down, pushed it backwards for a few feet, and then the "N" came on and it started. Got home, but it stuck in "2" again before I pulled into the driveway.
    Have 40,000 miles on it, and this is the 1st time the DCT gave me trouble.
    Any idea what's causing the problem?
  12. windowto

    windowto Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Oddometer:
    3,157
    Location:
    NJ
    I think it's the shift motor. Look for posts by @twinrider, he had those issues to a point where Honda bought the bike back.

    Anyway, I had it happen several times. No big deal, moved the bike back and forth and recycled the key. Once I decided to make a point to always shut down in neutral, never had the issue again.

    Good luck
  13. William Wolfen

    William Wolfen Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,686
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    One to many clutches and one to few clutch levers?
    blrfjr and windowto like this.
  14. cblais19

    cblais19 Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Oddometer:
    4,957
    Location:
    NoVA
    Have you changed the battery? My 2016 DCT was giving me fits until I swapped the original out.
  15. docgonzo

    docgonzo Old Gadfly

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Oddometer:
    21,299
    Location:
    within 20 miles of the Center of the Universe
    Thanks for the info. The battery is three years old, and I had a fair amount of electrics sucking on it today. On battery charger now, and I'll see how it is tomorrow. Will definitely have the dealer check it.
  16. Smittyrunner

    Smittyrunner Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Oddometer:
    223
    Location:
    Orange county ca
    You can reset the trans. .

    That helped with my problems I has having a couple months back. Took 300 miles and a buncha resets. But your problem just a reset will do.
  17. docgonzo

    docgonzo Old Gadfly

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Oddometer:
    21,299
    Location:
    within 20 miles of the Center of the Universe
    Thanks SO much! Will do that the next time I take the bike out. Has to be warm to do it, right?
    I also am going to change the battery. It is 3 years old, and I suck a lot of juice out of it during the winter months with the heated grips, heated vest and heated gloves. I think most batteries should be changed every three years if you are riding a fair amount. I have 40,000 miles on my original battery.
    If that doesn't work, I'll take it to the dealer.
    Love the bike and the DCT. It has been trouble-free for the three years, and is spectacular in the deep sand of the Pine Barrens in NJ. Hopefully, I'll get another trouble-free 40,000 miles. It's a Honda, for goodness sake!:-)
  18. mentolio

    mentolio King of the island of unwanted toys...

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,188
    Good info! I don’t have a DCT, but I am usually in awe of it. I wonder how many “easy recalibrations” there are for this bike that I’ve never even thought to look for (manual like War and Peace)?
  19. Smittyrunner

    Smittyrunner Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Oddometer:
    223
    Location:
    Orange county ca

    You definitely can do it cold. I did it cold the first time, well in a garage in California.. so no where near how cold your bike will be.

    I started to have the problem around 48k miles. But now I have 56k and it's back to normal.
  20. docgonzo

    docgonzo Old Gadfly

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Oddometer:
    21,299
    Location:
    within 20 miles of the Center of the Universe
    Thanks! I have to re-set my desk-top computer modem once a month, so having to reset the computer on the AT once every three years and 40,000 miles isn't that bad! Especially since this was one of the 1st ones in the US.