The KTM 500 XC-W Thread.

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by Geek, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. renogeorge

    renogeorge Let's ride!!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Oddometer:
    6,467
    Location:
    Reno
    Or E Bay or Rocky Mountain's Tusk brand. Much cheaper and work fine for me. FWIW
  2. guns_equal_freedom

    guns_equal_freedom Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,470
    2013 XCW 500
    No Sicass? Why not? No fucking around with that kit.
    Ugh, chopping up the stock bodywork.
    You don't have to do Dremel surgery with the Sicass rear under fender.
    The Sicass LED hand guards / turn signals work great.
    I used the 22-300 Sicass LED turn signal flasher thing, it works great.
    The Sicass kit comes with a horn button.
    The Sicass kit comes with a stick-on plate light, in the 4 years since I have owned the bike (numerous pressure washings) it is still sticking like a champ.
    I used the Sicass ignition key kit, works great.
    I used a generic hydro switch for both front and rear (I am running a Rekluse LHRB kit with no foot brake), no issues.
  3. TipsyMcStagger

    TipsyMcStagger Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,633
    Location:
    NYC & NPR, FL
    Hmmmm...nice catch. The part I listed (77707988017) is indeed the part I ordered and installed in my Acerbis tank. As far as I can tell, it's a perfect fit.

    I wonder what the difference is between what I used and 78107988017?
  4. TipsyMcStagger

    TipsyMcStagger Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,633
    Location:
    NYC & NPR, FL
    Some like blondes. Some like brunettes.

    I'm glad you're happy with what you chose to use.
    guns_equal_freedom likes this.
  5. renogeorge

    renogeorge Let's ride!!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Oddometer:
    6,467
    Location:
    Reno
    In this case, the blonde Sickass chic is about twice the price of the brunette Tusk stuff, at least for the very same Chinese switches and other parts I have checked. But some guys really like blondes.....I guess. I should note that I don't buy kits--just individual components and wire 'em up myself. FWIW
    guns_equal_freedom likes this.
  6. DocSpook

    DocSpook Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Oddometer:
    325
    Location:
    Bullseye USA
    New Rottweiler mirrors.
    lightly tagged one on a fence and the other on my garage first day but no issue, just re aim and perfect.
    expensive but bery nice.
    off-roading all day today with them folded in and they are still pristine
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    guns_equal_freedom likes this.
  7. Xpat

    Xpat Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Oddometer:
    799
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Just few pictures of 500 dual sporting in Africa:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    LungButter, GS Spirit, Magus and 13 others like this.
  8. Khazi

    Khazi n00b

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Oddometer:
    4
    Location:
    Centurion, South Africa
    Do you have access to more models wiring diagrams like the one in the back ground of the switch?
    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
  9. mgorman

    mgorman Crashing since 1964

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Oddometer:
    6,228
    Location:
    NEO
    Kind of, they are located in the service manuals

    Michael
  10. rmz290

    rmz290 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    44
    Location:
    Western Ma
    I'm tempted to go the same route as you on my '15 500 XCW. The previous owner installed the sicass brake switches but nothing else. It appears buying everything I need in your list (beyond the indicator lights) will be about half the price of the sicass kit. Based on your research, did you notice anything that would cause the same parts to not work on my one year newer bike (it has the newer dash)? Was everything plug and play? Where did you source the euro flasher switch from? In my quick search online it appeared none of the big online ktm parts places had it offered.
  11. TipsyMcStagger

    TipsyMcStagger Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,633
    Location:
    NYC & NPR, FL
    I can't say off the top of my head whether the 2015 dash affects any of the part numbers, 2014 vs. 2015.

    But you can download the 2015 EXC chassis and engine parts manuals here and compare the part numbers listed against the numbers I used. Yes, everything plugged together as factory. The only thing I needed to splice was the Sicass 22-299 flasher "kit," and only because I chose to use LED signals.

    I bought the Euro flasher switch while I was in Germany. I ordered it from here and had it shipped to my hotel. I'm fairly certain they will ship to the US but it will obviously cost more than I paid to have it shipped intra-Germany.
  12. phlatlander

    phlatlander Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    77
    Location:
    Flatland, SD
    I ordered the euro seitch from aonc, it ttok 6 weeks for me 2 get it but it did come. I needed a switch housing prior to the euro one arriving so i bought the 98(older) version & it works fine.

    I ordered the parts suggested by Tipsy & it was plug and play 4 my 14 350xcf-w.
    TipsyMcStagger likes this.
  13. YesRush

    YesRush Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Oddometer:
    3,864
    Location:
    Va
    What's the best deal going on now for chain and sprockets? I have orange rims and not sure about a colored chain or not.lol
  14. rmz290

    rmz290 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    44
    Location:
    Western Ma
    Thanks for the feedback, I actually found a knock off of the switch on amazon for $14. Bought the wiring harnesses you recommended as well as the other parts I needed and everything was plug and play. All the parts (minus the turn signals that I already had) were $140. Much lower cost than the sicass kit and OEM quality!
    TipsyMcStagger likes this.
  15. TipsyMcStagger

    TipsyMcStagger Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,633
    Location:
    NYC & NPR, FL
    Glad the info was helpful.

    So for the benefit of others, the part numbers I used and listed were unchanged for your 2015?

    Got a link to the switch you used?
  16. sonic reducer

    sonic reducer Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Oddometer:
    608
    Location:
    SeaTac WA
    I just picked up a pretty nice 500xcw. it is fairly stock. It has a dual sport kit on it of unknown origin. It doesn’t have an ignition key setup, what would be the best way to go about putting one on that isn’t easily tampered with? I understand you can get the cheesy 4 wire ones that interrupt the kill and start buttons but seems too easy to bypass.

    I’m going to do some preventive maintenance on the fuel system. What is the best price you guys have seen on the small inline fuel filter? I saw 3 for $23 shipped on eBay. Tried also to buy a 10 pack of the KL97OF in tank filters on rock auto but they are out of stock. Got one off eBay for under $7 shipped. I’ll grab some 5/16 fuel injection clamps from Napa. As far as the pump screen, clean or replace?
    I wanted to also pick up a few extra injector o rings. I found that the size is 7.2x2.2 and it appears that is a size used on some Hondas but otherwise pretty rare. The ktm part is $8ish, ridiculous.
    What a killer bike!
  17. kclark

    kclark 1SevenZero

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Oddometer:
    121
    Location:
    Washington
    1A230991-A16D-464B-AEE7-F56DA3B4FC26.jpeg Well... I need the help of those smarter than me. I have a 2012 500 XCW that I am attempting to consolidate the starter and kill switch. I purchased a generic switch that appears identical to the KTM factory switches on the newer bikes. Got it all wired up, but it runs in the kill mode and dies in the run mode(switching wires around does nothing to correct it).

    I assume this has to do with the original kill switch killing it by grounding out, and the way the switch is designed it completes the circuit (grounding) when in the run position. Is there a way to correct this so it runs in the run position and dies in the kill position?

    Thanks for any help you can provide.
  18. SoilSampleDave

    SoilSampleDave Dr. Zaius was right!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    10,427
    Location:
    The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
    Sounds like an awesome anti-theft device.
    Bungholio likes this.
  19. kclark

    kclark 1SevenZero

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Oddometer:
    121
    Location:
    Washington
    I agree, but I can be a little OCD about stuff like this. :D It has to be correct or it will drive me nuts. I thought about finding a way to repaint the symbols.
  20. MasterMarine

    MasterMarine Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,430
    Location:
    Now serving just Snohomish County
    On most small engines the kill switch works by taking the kill circuit to ground. On some small engines the kill switch works by allowing current to flow thru the switch to a run wire. It sounds like you have a switch for each.

    Is the actual switch internals removable or reversible? Put an ohm meter on the leads from your stock switch and see what is happening. Then put the ohm meter on the new one and see how it works. Maybe there are some unused contacts in the switch on the new one that you can use to duplicate the actions of the old one?