The Moto Guzzi I always wanted but never knew I did

Discussion in 'Moto Bellissima: All Other Dualsports' started by Dracula, Oct 13, 2015.

1. Dracula

Dracula afficionado Supporter

Oddometer:
    I have been riding since 1989, started with small two stroke 50 cc and worked my way up.. had owned various makes and models. The last one, a BMW R1200 GS purchased new in 2007 has now 140,000 miles. And I have been thinking all past years - there can't be a better motorcycle for me, for the type of riding I like. Long distance, off road exploration, camping, comfort, reliability, easy maintenace done with on board tools, in the middle of Alaska, or elsewhere remote. And of course, grin factor. Yet the idea of Moto Guzzi was somehow always with me for the past few years. Intriguing. Since I already loved my GS 1200 so much I considered a complimentary model. Problem was, on paper, made no sense at all to consider any Guzzi model. Eventually when California 1400 came out I went and tested one, out of pure curiosity and because it looked so darn good in pictures. I was not disappointed, regardless of it's suitability for my riding style, I almost bought one. But I knew then and there, it has to be another Guzzi model I want. Cruisers aren't my preference, and although speeding on sport bikes was once a passion, getting older brings the desire for comfort. And being able to explore forest roads, too. And so I came to consider the Stelvio. After having ridden one now cross country, I can tell you that all magazines and media articles I kept reading were 100% biased and full of their own agendas when reviewing it. Fast forward, past dealer research and showroom standing and seat trying, I had somehow still not been decided. Always going back to ride the GS - was all I really needed and truly enjoyed. All the memories of hundred of hours over vast expanses of the North America, good weather, bad weather, all kind of roads, it never failed me. I do take care of it and also am