The Running thread

Discussion in 'Sports' started by slackmeyer, Oct 23, 2016.

1. slackmeyer

slackmeyer Don't mean sheeit. .

Oddometer:
    This place needs a running thread. If only to keep me and a few others from polluting other threads with our running gospel, I do understand how annoying it can be for people that only understand running as something to do when being chased by aggresive megafauna.

I've been running fairly regularly for a year and a couple months now- and regularly is not nearly as much as some people run, but I usually get out a couple times a week. Sometimes once, sometimes 3 times, occasionally none, but that's ok- it's not punishment or a chore anymore, it's a nice thing to do to get out, work up a sweat, clear my head, and be back. I usually run at night, because I'm not a morning person, and I have a little kid that I like to spend time with while he's awake.

Over the last few months, I've been trying to take some longer runs, and to build up weekly mileage enough to support that. My weekly mileage is still lagging- probably around 15-25, and being honest, even that is kind of cherry picking my better weeks. Somehow the long runs are still going ok- today's run was 19.6 miles, about 2500' elevation gain, and mostly on trails and fire roads. I was pretty worn out the last few miles, but that was partly from getting steamrolled by a running black lab at mile 15- it hit me right in the kneecap.

My wife is a better and more dedicated runner- she ran her first marathon yesterday, a trail race, and came in 3rd woman, in under 4 hours. It's helped a lot to try to keep close to her abilities, and our competitive natures make it a lot easier for me to get out the door at 9 pm and go run intervals for an hour.