The Successes and Failures of a Wanna Be Endurance Rider.

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Day Trippin'' started by NewYorkLuke, Nov 26, 2018.

1. NewYorkLuke

NewYorkLuke Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Where to begin. . . Where to begin. . .

My name is Luke, I'm 32 years old and live in upstate New York.

I started riding motorcycle about 14 years ago. I was going to community college living the pretty average broke college kid life. First day, of my first summer break my two roommates, Chris and Matt, showed up with motorcycles. I knew I had to have one.

So began the process of talking my dad into co-signing a loan. My father was. . . we'll say frugal my entire adolescent and early adult life. Talking him into risking his perfect credit score on me was no easy feet. But for some reason he eventually folded and the shopping began.

I knew I had to have a street bike, because girls dig street bikes. and I knew I had to have a Honda, because Chris rode a Honda and he was the group motor head.

After a short time searching I found a 2004 Honda F4i, yellow and black. With some help from my dad I negotiated a price that lefty me enough money for a new rear tire when the time came.

Shortly there after most of our close friends got motorcycles and a group of 5 or 6 of us would meet at Hess on Main Street to go for rides. Those rides quickly became to short for me and the time spent waiting at Hess to long for me.

Chris and I broke off from the group to do longer rides. 200 miles in a day, 300 miles in a day 500 miles in a day. For rain gear we would slip on a dollar store poncho and put a belt around out waists to help stop the flapping.

The 2nd season came and now even Chris didn't want to ride as much as I did. I was riding in the rain just for the change of pace.

Several years go by, 10's of thousands of miles pass. A bunch of tires, gallons and gallons of gas and even a couple crashed bikes.