Thoughts on hydrostatic drive for 2WD(or 3?)

Discussion in 'Hacks' started by IHWillys, Mar 11, 2010.

1. IHWillys

IHWillys Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I have zero experience with sidecars and only enough curiosity thus far to read about them and, of course, always notice them when seen on the road which happens surprisingly often around here in northern Colorado. Perhaps someday I'll get a chance to try one out even if as only a passenger. Regardless, I can't help but link another interest of mine together with the hack concept and that is hydraulic drive, or more accurately, hydrostatic drive.

It would seem that a sidecar setup would lend itself readily to experimenting with this technology. Hydrostatic drive readily provides for reverse and multiple wheel drive(even up to all 3 wheels driven!) and the hack setup provides for easier packaging over a 2-wheeler. I envision a small diesel with atleast 2WD.

Anyone here doing this?

Ken
  2. Salsa

Salsa Long timer

Oddometer:
    If I were doing it I would think a conventional motorcycle with a hydraulic pump to drive the third wheel when needed. That could include one wheel drive -- sidecar wheel for reverse.

If only I could find a way to drive the pump.

Don
  3. IHWillys

IHWillys Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    If set up without reverse I figure hydrostatic would not be needed but simply the correct ratio between pump and motor to match wheel speed. This would be 1:1 if the pump was driven at the same rpm as the conventionally driven wheel.

I don't know enough about either the hydraulics or sidecars to be offering anything on the level of advice but I sure like to read posts from those that do.

Ken
  4. HogWild

HogWild Scott Whitney

Oddometer:
    I looked at it pretty closely. I wanted to buy the Ohlins system that was developed for their off-road bike for the Dakar Rally. But they only made a few of those, and they don't sell them. http://www.ohlins.com/Checkpoint-Ohlins/2WD---The-Complete-Story/