tilt, linear actuator replacement

Discussion in 'Hacks' started by twintwin, May 9, 2016.

  1. twintwin

    twintwin Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Oddometer:
    932
    Location:
    NL
    I need a new tilt. The original one came with the Dauntless, DMC, kit 10 years ago, it failed after a couple years. Jay provided me another one, same brand, and it failed again, I do not know exactly when. I was away for a couple years, so I did not ride so much the R1100GS rig. I decided yesterday to take it of. I opened le motor cover, and one of the magnet felt ! then I laid it down and water was swiping, opened the mechanism cover and more than one cup a water was trapped. I never did water crossing but I remember 4 years ago having riding in a pouring rain.

    So I need another tilt, same measurements, I do not want to change the brackets on the chair.
    Can you recommend one, identical in dimensions and characteristics to the broken one, and waterproof if possible! Thanks

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. brianjonesphoto

    brianjonesphoto Hacked off

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,928
    Location:
    The Brier Patch, WA
    I'm in the same boat. The temporary fix that was done to my rig prior to acquiring it was to convert the actuator into a manual lean adjustment with the addition of a hand knob at the bottom.

    I've done a little looking and there are very few IP67 rated actuators out there which is what you need.
    #2
  3. claude

    claude Sidecar Jockey

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Oddometer:
    5,756
    Location:
    Middleburg, Pa. (Snyder County)
    Didier have you spoken to Jay? Google water resistant linear actuators? Possibly cover the new one with a boot of some type?
    #3
  4. GearHeadGrrrl

    GearHeadGrrrl Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,246
    Location:
    SW MN & Flatistan when it snows
    IIRC, Danaher owns the company now. Most of these linear actuators are designed to be used indoors for factory automation, etc., so they're not really designed to live outdoors.
    #4
  5. claude

    claude Sidecar Jockey

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Oddometer:
    5,756
    Location:
    Middleburg, Pa. (Snyder County)
  6. jaydmc

    jaydmc Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,851
    When we were using these the factory sales person insisted that they were water resistant and running them as we intended would not be an issue. We found this not to be the case, we now use actuators from a company in Canada called progressive automations. Much higher quality product but totally different mounting systems.
    Jay G
    DMC sidecars
    www.dmcsidecars.com
    866-638-1793
    #6
  7. Melrone

    Melrone Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,237
    Location:
    Cheese Head Country
    Just sent you a PM
    #7
  8. twintwin

    twintwin Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Oddometer:
    932
    Location:
    NL
    Thanks Melrone for your pm, and offer to send me yours, I may take it.
    If Jay can shim in to let me know if he has upgraded his old tilt actuator with a waterproof unit? I would appreciate.
    There are no specifications, neither part # written on my unit, so it is impossible to know exactly what to look for as a replacement! Apparently Thomson Saginaw do not manufacture any more this unit.
    Thanks all for your answers, and I do believe that a electric tilt is a very useful feature on a rig (when it is working :-), even thinking getting one for my other rig the R1150GSA CMS with EZS L. L.
    #8
  9. claude

    claude Sidecar Jockey

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Oddometer:
    5,756
    Location:
    Middleburg, Pa. (Snyder County)
    Take note that 'water resistant' is not the same as 'water proof' although it is a good sign.
    #9
    jawehner1419 likes this.
  10. twintwin

    twintwin Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Oddometer:
    932
    Location:
    NL
    OK Claude, you are right, and water resistant should be good enough. The pouring rain was coming back from the Finger lake rally about 4 years ago, and I'm sure Claude you remember those heavy storms :-)
    Got an email answer from Jay, saying that he has no replacement unit in mind, as he does not work any more with Thomson Saginaw, the unit not being reliable enough, and his upgraded tilt use a different brand with a completely different mounting system.
    So, my option are take the offer from Melrone and have his unit mounted (try to make it water resistant). And if it does not work, forget the electric tilt and have Claude fabricate a manual one, with the same measurements for an easy bolt in part without changing the bracket.
    #10
  11. brianjonesphoto

    brianjonesphoto Hacked off

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,928
    Location:
    The Brier Patch, WA
    #11
  12. claude

    claude Sidecar Jockey

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Oddometer:
    5,756
    Location:
    Middleburg, Pa. (Snyder County)
    LOL.....Yes I remember that ....you left McDonalds and ran into the storm...we stayed and went back to Champion Speedway and waited on them until they finally cancelled then Ron and I had a very interesting run back to good ol' Middleburg after dark. Heck if every ride went just right we would have less stories to tell . So it goes :-)
    #12
    Bobmws likes this.
  13. Strong Bad

    Strong Bad Former World's Foremost Authority Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Oddometer:
    13,881
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Just how much travel/stroke do you guys need/use on these actuators?
    #13
  14. DRONE

    DRONE Dog Chauffeur

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    10,128
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    Trying to reply without making it sound dirty. :imaposer Four inches on both my 1150GSA rig and my 1200GSA rig.
    #14
    Bobmws and Strong Bad like this.
  15. davebig

    davebig Another Angry Hun !

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    11,973
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Twintwin my buddy with a Hannigan that Claude mounted with a swaybar on his K1200rs the electric jack seems to make no difference. I've been up down and all over the place with sidecar shocks and springs with the swaybar attached it makes very little difference, if the 1100 doesn't have a swaybar consider it. It's finally spring in MN Trount seasons well under way :-)
    #15
  16. brianjonesphoto

    brianjonesphoto Hacked off

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,928
    Location:
    The Brier Patch, WA
    Drone any idea what the weight rating is on either of your rigs. I assume the 1200 has the new style actuator.
    #16
  17. DRONE

    DRONE Dog Chauffeur

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    10,128
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    Brian, with rider, dog, camping gear and a half tank of gas, my old 1150 came in at 1320 lbs. The actuator (the one I PM'ed you about) was THIS ONE from Warner Linear. Load limit of 2200 lbs and it pulls 25 amps.

    I haven't weighed the 1200. That's something I should do next time I'm loaded for a trip. It has the Progressive Automation actuator mentioned above.
    #17
  18. FLYING EYEBALL

    FLYING EYEBALL out of step

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Oddometer:
    12,797
    Location:
    north of seattle
    Am I the only dork with an electric trim that hardly ever touches it?
    #18
  19. claude

    claude Sidecar Jockey

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Oddometer:
    5,756
    Location:
    Middleburg, Pa. (Snyder County)
    A swaybar is somewhat of a self compensating device by nature. Activating an electric tilt device preloads the swaybar in a sense. On some rigs the difference is more than on others.
    #19
  20. Bobmws

    Bobmws Curmudgeon At Large

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Oddometer:
    4,816
    Location:
    Same trailer, different park, FL
    I believe I had a discussion with Claude about that. If you have the actuator set for neutral handling for a load or road crown, then set your swaybar, it will function properly. If you change the actuator the swaybar will put pressure on the drive wheel (or vice-versa), somewhat negating the effect of the actuator change.

    ^^^^^ Uh, yeah, what Claude said! :eyes :ear
    #20