Tire Pressure Monitoring/Alert system Cyclops Adventure Sports

Discussion in 'Vendors' started by Off Road Ryder, Apr 20, 2017.

  1. fredz43

    fredz43 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,147
    Location:
    Illinois (right by that road with a curve in it)
    When I had these, I had to remove the TPMS caps to add air, then check pressure with a guage to make sure it was correct, then reinstall the TPMS cap. Now I have the Orange Electronics TPMS system that has the sensors inside of the wheel and don't have to do that.
  2. markinthailand

    markinthailand Long timer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,018
    Location:
    Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand
    Don't you check it all the time with the Cyclops TPMS itself? Or do you mean you check with a gauge often? My experience is that the Cyclops TPMS is pretty spot on, and there really isn't a need, outside for filling or deflating tires, to check with a gauge.
  3. NinjaRider

    NinjaRider Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    236
    Location:
    Southern N.H.
    I remove the TPMS caps and check with a gauge. I want to verify before I start riding the pressure is still ok from the last ride or the last time I checked. I have had a couple occasions where a tire ( rear ) has picked up a nail or had
    a small leak from the ride the day before and I didn't realize the pressure was low until I started heading down the road. The TPMS did a great job of flashing and letting me know, but it would have been better to know before, potentially
    allow me time to fix it, etc. I have also had tires with a slow leak and every few days needed to add a couple pounds. Its a great system, but it doesn't show you true current pressure / start flashing until you start rolling a bit.
  4. 2 SPOT

    2 SPOT bring the rape whistle

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,300
    Location:
    Payson AZ
    because when you need to add air once in a while its a royal PITA to put the TPMS cap on, ride 100ft to see the pressure, then repeat the process till your at your desired pressure
  5. markinthailand

    markinthailand Long timer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,018
    Location:
    Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand
    I don't take the TPMS cap off to check pressure unless I'm adding air, and then use a tire gauge to check while I'm filling. For me (riding daily) it would be "ride 100 feet, see pressure is low, stop at gas station on the way to work (less than 1 km away) and top up" or if I'm out, "stop and air up checking with the tire gauge."

    I don't think anyone would use ONLY the TPMS to check pressure (putting it back on to check when filling), that would be nuts. For me, there is no reason to take it off unless I'm going to fill. I'll know in a minute if it needs to be aired up.

    But I ride daily, and commute, so maybe it would be different if you only ride on weekends or once in awhile. Also would make a different I would guess if your tires tend to loose pressure. Mine don't really, so I don't have to do much with them.
  6. 2 SPOT

    2 SPOT bring the rape whistle

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,300
    Location:
    Payson AZ
    we're in agreement, i was being sarcastic.
  7. 2 SPOT

    2 SPOT bring the rape whistle

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,300
    Location:
    Payson AZ
    i'm in the first batch group also, and i just got the er message,,, the manual says its a problem with the sending unit, as a low battery shows Lo on the display. but i havent tried replacing the battery yet so we'll see.
  8. Reidy008

    Reidy008 I,m in if we go fast

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    4,013
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I was in the first group, I got ER when the batteries were done.
    Off Road Ryder and 2 SPOT like this.
  9. Tripped1

    Tripped1 Smoove, Smoove like velvet.

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    28,890
    Location:
    Nippon
    @Off Road Ryder

    Do you guys offer the sensor caps alone? I forgot to stand over a tire guy and he let the sesnor cap hit my caliper, so the cap is gashed and every time I ride in the rain it slaughters the battery.
  10. Off Road Ryder

    Off Road Ryder Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    3,753
    Location:
    Kent Wa
    Yikes. Yes please give us a call we do have replacement parts available.
  11. 2 SPOT

    2 SPOT bring the rape whistle

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,300
    Location:
    Payson AZ
    replaced battery, all is working again. seems the Er is dead batt. Lo, who knows
    Off Road Ryder likes this.
  12. Off Road Ryder

    Off Road Ryder Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    3,753
    Location:
    Kent Wa
    Yes Sir, so sorry if I missed a q in here..
  13. 2 SPOT

    2 SPOT bring the rape whistle

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,300
    Location:
    Payson AZ
    No Q in there, but notable that all of us who have posted the er message has been fixed with a new battery.

    The product is still batting 100
    Off Road Ryder likes this.
  14. vasuvius

    vasuvius wannabe something ... don't know what

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Oddometer:
    375
    Location:
    Northern NJ & South Berkshire County MA
    I use Dynabeads to balance my tires. Will the beads interfere with this TPMS ? (I imagine gravity and centrifugal forces keep the beads away from the rim)
    Also on the F7GS, the valve stem is on a spoke and stick out sideways - will the TPMS sensor clear the brake rotor ?
    Off Road Ryder likes this.
  15. Off Road Ryder

    Off Road Ryder Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    3,753
    Location:
    Kent Wa
    Dyna beads will not be an issue We have installed several on the 650,700 and 800 Gs's and never had any clearance issues.. the sensors are approx .9 in dia.
    vasuvius and REALGRAVEROBBER like this.
  16. markinthailand

    markinthailand Long timer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,018
    Location:
    Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand
    Which batteries do they take? I've gotten the Error message a couple of times when out on longer rides, so I think they are starting to get weak and I'd like to get the batteries ahead of time.

    Thanks!
    Off Road Ryder likes this.
  17. REALGRAVEROBBER

    REALGRAVEROBBER LEAVING GRAVES EMPTY

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Oddometer:
    852
    Location:
    GFY, Montana
    Great product!
    Off Road Ryder likes this.
  18. Off Road Ryder

    Off Road Ryder Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    3,753
    Location:
    Kent Wa
    Thanks yes the err message is the sensor batteries. it takes Cr1632
  19. markinthailand

    markinthailand Long timer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,018
    Location:
    Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand
    Thanks!
    Off Road Ryder likes this.